I Fell Down the Fallout Rabbit Hole

Too often, I sit down with my laptop in my free time and do…nothing. Sure, I browse Pinterest for a while and even tell myself I should be working on that YA story I’ve been planning for years. But, in reality, I do a whole lot of nothing and I get insanely bored.

While I have shit coordination, I’ve always wanted to play video games. Hubs wants it, too, because sitting around and watching anime together isn’t exactly interactive. I’ve always loved to watch my loved ones play video games, from the NES Zelda games when I was really little to all of my brother’s fun XBox 360 games when he was a teen.

While the games I’m looking forward to haven’t released yet, (Pokemon and Zelda) we own a ton of games that have gotten little to no gameplay.

Fallout4

Especially Fallout 4.

I think we each played it once for a few hours when it released and then promptly forgot about it. Which is a waste of money in my book. So, I hooked up the spare computer and bugged hubs for his Steam password.

And holy shit, do I love it. It’s the first thing I want to do when I come home now. I’m pathetically awful and I have to put the game settings on easy just to be able to play, but I’m having so much fun.

Hubs sits along side me, laughing at all of the inappropriate and stupid things that I do. I’m traveling the Commonwealth, calling my companion Cocksworth instead of Codsworth as he glitches over the map, making awful gun sounds with every movement. I’m screaming in surprise as I turn away from my husband to find angry Supermutants standing in front of me, as if waiting for me to pay attention.

It’s been a riot so far. Hopefully I’ll have more stories for you, like the time I made my brother carry a garden gnome across the Fallout 3 map. I’m pretty excited for Fallout: Nuka World and to see what crazy trouble I can get into there.

Do you play Fallout 4? What are your funniest stories? Who’s your companion? (I’m thinking of switching to Valentine soon.)

Fallout

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

6 thoughts on “I Fell Down the Fallout Rabbit Hole”

  1. I haven’t played Fallout but we’ve been playing a lot of Super Mario World lately if that counts haha 🙂

  2. I haven’t played Fallout but we play a lot of co-op Fable 2 over here! Well, I force the boyfriend to play it with me 😉 He’s not one for RPGs!

    Hannah, thecatsandcoffee.com

    1. We play kind of side by side. He’s on the big screen in the dining room while I’m on the smaller screen in the living room. Most of the time we’re both screaming in fear or frustration.

Leave a Reply

