My Youtube Addiction: Speed Painting

Every morning that I have a little time to enjoy my coffee, I prop open my laptop and pull up Youtube. Usually, my husband is still asleep so I don’t have to listen to him complain about the sound coming from my end of the house.

Growing up, I loved to draw. At first, I did little fashion sketches with the dream of becoming a fashion designer. Later on, I did more character sketches. I pulled people from my head and brought them to paper the best that I could. Through my high school and college years, my drawing filled the edges of my notebooks. It was a mechanism that helped me to better pay attention.

But, I never really took it seriously. Writing was my calling, I threw all of myself into and let the sketches become doodles. Now, I’m wishing that I’d kept up with it, that I’d learned more.

I don’t know if I’m telling myself I’d learn anything from watching these speed paintings or if I just long for the ability to do these things myself (without actually having to work at it, of course). But I let myself fall head long into binges.

Audra Auclair

Audra No FaceThere’s something creepily ethereal about all of Audra Auclair’s paintings that I absolutely love. The best part is that sometimes she takes on fandoms that I love as well. Someday, I want to frame all of her Ghibli paintings and hang them in my home.

Jacquelin Deleon

Jacqueline deleon

I love the graphic nature of her paintings, the heavy outline that makes them so striking. Jacquelin Deleon often paints otherworldly, tattooed women, goddesses, and mermaids. Her ability to create depth with vibrant watercolors makes me so jealous.

Victoria Gedvillas

Victoria

Going by the name of Juicy Ink on youtube, Victoria Gedvillas posts videos the most often, I think. She doesn’t actually paint that much, opting to use copic markers for all of her adorable character drawings. I’ve learned the power of the thumbnail sketch and color study by watching her videos. She loves to take on the coolest women in all of the fandoms, slowly dragging me deeper and deeper into her youtube channel.

Instead of watching these, I really should go upstairs and gather my sketchbooks and watercolors. Perhaps I’ll put these videos on in the background, their lovely music playing in the background.

Disclaimer: All rights to these photos belong to the artists who made them. I just wanted to give them all the shout out that they deserve because they’re all pretty awesome at what they do.

 

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

6 thoughts on “My Youtube Addiction: Speed Painting”

Leave a Reply

