Even Superheroes were Teenagers

While browsing instagram, the social media site boasted a photo of one of my fave authors in the new stories feature. I kind of fell into a rabbit hole after clicking the profile link and found out something that I may or may not have already known:

Leigh Bardugo is working on a Wonder Woman young adult novel.

WW

Are you kidding me? I am a a screaming mess of excitement rolling on the floor right now. At least I am on the inside. I’m sure my husband might think differently of me if I did do that.

Or he might not. He’s seen a lot from me.

How cool is it that the author of the Grishaverse is working on  my homegirl’s teen years? Bardugo has a well grounded foundation in fantasy, having created a russian steampunk fantasy world for her novels. This leads me to believe that perhaps her novel will be set in Thymescira, Diana’s Amazonian home island.

Upon further research I found out that Bardugo isn’t the only one penning a superhero YA novel. The list gets even better, including Superman, Batman, and Catwoman. And the author line up? Just as kick ass.

Matt De La Pena is working on Superman while Marie Lu, author of The Young Elites (which we listened to on tape), will be working on the young Bat. I don’t know much about Pena, but I already know Lu might have what it takes.

Finally, another favorite of mine is heading Catwoman. I’m not the biggest fan of the illustrious jewel thief, but for Sarah J. Maas, a girl might be tempted to get to know her. Maas is the author of the wildly popular Throne of Glass series as well as my all time faves, A Court of Thorns and Roses as well as A Court of Mist and Fury.

These book are slated to be released sometime in 2017, Bardugo’s listed as August.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

7 thoughts on “Even Superheroes were Teenagers”

    1. I’ve seen the Black Widow novel and I’ve been tempted. I’m not the biggest fan of Lois Lane, but Black Widow is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

