American Gods on Starz

The whispers have been going around for a while, but I haven’t paid them any real attention. So many times has television and the big screen tried to take on a book and failed. Perhaps the only book to film adaptation I’ve ever really loved has been the Harry Potter series (up until the last two films in which both put me to sleep).

BUT,

American gods

Starz has decided to take on the major task of bringing a Neil Gaiman book to life on the small screen. And the trailer that was released during the San Diego Comic Con has me so freaking pumped. Click the gif above to head on over and watch the official trailer!

Ian McShane is playing Wednesday, Shadow’s mysterious mentor after he is released from jail. That’s just the bomb dot com right there. Peter Stormare, the coolest and creepiest actor out of Sweden, plays Czernobog, a slavic diety. And he looks boss wielding that massive, bloody weapon.

This honestly has me pretty excited to watch American Gods. I read the book almost ten years ago. It had to be my senior year or not long after that I found American Gods in my favorite library. From there I fell in love with Gaiman and everything he’s ever produced, except for maybe Anansi Boys, but even that was still pretty good.

In it, a convict named Shadow is released from jail only to find that his whole world is gone. Not long after he meets Wednesday, a mysterious old man who drags him across the country to meet all sorts of shady characters. Who wouldn’t call old, slavic gods shady? Along the way, Shadow has a few run ins with the new set of gods.

The things we worship today, fame and fortune and technology and so much more, are pushing the old gods out of the spotlight in one glorious and bloody shove. Too bad the old gods have Shadow.

Sadly, the only release date given for this awesome project is 2017.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

2 thoughts on “American Gods on Starz”

    1. It begins weird, but I promise it’s one of his less weird novels. I remember loving it, but I should read it again, too.

Leave a Reply

