Suicide Squad: The Review (Spoiler Free!)

First, let me apologize for being away.

I haven’t been very faithful to this blog. Not at all.

I needed to change things up and thought that abandoning Girl Getting Geeky altogether was the right thing to do. Then I faltered on the new blog. And I began to miss this one.

I made a mistake.

But I’m back! And with a Suicide Squad review to boot!

Hubs and I walked to the nearest theater, yes WALKED (because so much has changed!). And we totally got the Suicide Squad concession swag at the counter. I couldn’t help myself.

I don’t know if it was the theater that got stuck with the B-movie trailers before hand (like Kong: Skull Island), or if Suicide Squad got stuck with them…but that’s not what we’re here for.

It opens just how we all expect, because we’ve seen a lot of these scenes already. Deadshot in his jail cell. Harley in her’s. The while intro plays out as expected because they really didn’t hide much in the trailers. Not at all. We know who is who and why everyone is there.

I can roll with that. I’ll give it a chance.

And, honestly, it’s not a bad movie. I mean, it’s not mind blowing by any means, but I’m not going to shoot it down either. There are moments that tug at the heart strings. There are moments that make you giggle. And there are moments that make you want to punch the air in excitement.

But here are my complaints: Katana had so little personality. Almost to the point of none. She was just Badass With Blade. And there was so little about the plot that was actually surprising. There were several minion fights before the big boss battle and even that felt, not so much weak, but lacking somehow.

Then there’s the hottest couple in Gotham. The movie is worth it for these two alone. Jared Leto, as in the front man for 30 Seconds to Mars, made the most ganster, whacked out, unpredictable Joker that I’ve ever seen. I’m leaning towards actually liking the Joker and I’ve never been a fan of him at all.  The fact that he was so wildly unpredictable in every way was what really made him his own Joker, the best (in my opinion).

Harley, played by the beautiful and fucking talented Margot Robbie,  was full of unabashed sass and blatant disregard for everything NOT Joker. Her love for him played a bigger role in the movie that I originally thought. Despite their dysfunctional relationship, her feelings for him drive her.

I’m not a Harley Quinn fan at all, either. I don’t like people that focus their entire lives around their partner, especially one that doesn’t seem to care about them. The relationship they have in this movie makes it easier for me to fall in love with DC’s most whacked out duo.

 

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

