Things I Love Thursday! Travel Edition

Within the last two months I went on two trips. One was a flight to Oregon to see the very bestie and the second was a roadtrip with the mother-in-law (not even half as bad as it sounds) to Indiana and Tennessee. So many things happened. Life was lived.

Zoos

photo (9)

I can’t say that the Cleveland Zoo thrilled me inside and out. Many of the animals there seemed lethargic and kind of sad. It made my heart kind of want to break. On our way back to the great NY, we stopped at the Erie PA Zoo and my mind was changed. The animals there were moving, interacting. They seemed to have life.

I saw a tiger in the flesh!

Aquariums

photo (8)

While we lived in Monterey, CA, hubs and I went to the aquarium at least twice. I remember being mesmerized by the jellyfish and, of course, the penguins. Our trip to Tennessee also meant going to the Ripley’s Aquarium in Gatlinburg. They had penguins, too, but it was the underwater walkway that did it for me. It was tranquil and awe inspiring.

Then there were sea dragons and armored catfish. And I got to touch a jellyfish. (Turns out, they feel like wet mushrooms).

Getting Lost

So many freaking times on our road trip we found ourselves not where we planned. It was errors in communication. It was jumping exits. It was good laughs and a bit of extra sight seeing.

A lot of the time, I panic when I realize I’m lost. This trip kind of taught me that there isn’t much reason for that kind of behavior. Not when we have good company and google maps. When we found ourselves in downtown Indianapolis at 10:30 at night, I whipped out my phone and punched an address into google maps. Soon enough, we were on our way.

Trying New Things

photo (7)

I had never been on a ski lift or a roller coaster before Gatlinburg, but I did both there. The mountain side roller coaster was nothing more than a go-kart sized seat that took you up the side of the mountain and dropped you down some scary round abouts. I loved every second of that thrilling ride.

The Sky Lift (a ski lift that brought you up the side of the mountain in town) seemed like nothing in comparison. It gently moseyed it’s way up the mountain, never more than twenty feet from the ground. It was the ride back that was worth it. You faced all of Gatlinburg and the Smoky Mountains from way up high. It was breath taking in every direction.

This summer, I’m hoping I can save enough money for my very own kayak. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for so long and I’m just so excited to try it out on Lake Ontario and the St. Lawrence River.

Food Finds

photo 1 (4)

My trip to Portland, as any trip with the bestie, was a lot about food. We went to Salt & Straw for ice-cream and City State for brunch and mimosas and Voodoo Donuts for on the go breakfast. We stopped at a chocolatier and picked up macarons. Finding the best local restaurants and cafes in a town is one of my favorite things to do, even in my own area.

We have a bit more planned for this summer, including taking my parents to their first Renaissance Faire and going to Massachusetts to visit our online friends IRL. Hubs said it yesterday, we are in the prime of our life at this moment. We shouldn’t be wasting it on the couch.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

2 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday! Travel Edition”

  1. I really love zoos and aquariums too – I love being able to see animals do their thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

