Things I Love Thursdays! Video Game Edition

While I don’t play games too much, I still love them. Some for nostalgia, others for the amazing work put into them. Then there are the others….the ones that let me just be a mad raving psycho and unleash my rage at the real world on.

Kirby
I don’t mention him, but I love this pink ball soooooooo much.

The Legend of Zelda

This must have been one of the very first games I remember watching. It was a staple in our house from the original Nintendo right up to the current Wii system. Ocarina of Time has to be my absolute favorite, probably because it is the first one that I remember well.

Skyrim

After a lot of poking and prodding by my husband I finally gave in and made a character on Skyrim. I can’t remember her name for the life of me, but I remember loving the shit out of her. She was a badass, up in your face kind of girl carrying a two handed ax and travelling the world with an undead friend, Herman. I was absolute shit, but I had fun and hubs thought I was funny.

Anything Lego

This began with my brother, on a Playstation 2 I do believe. It was Lego Star Wars. I always killed my brother for the LOLs. Then we moved on to Lego Batman. I always got to be Batman and I always killed my brother for the LOLs. Nowadays I play Lego Hobbit or Lego LOTR with my husband. I try not to kill him, if only to spare his feelings. I’d love to get my hands on the Lego Marvel games.

Dark Souls

Like hell will I even try to play this one. Hubs pushed me to make a character and play for an hour on DS 2, but I was absolute shit at it. Still, I love to watch him play. The absolute horrendous nature of the game makes me laugh. Monsters are often conglomerations of body parts, elevators and treasure chests will straight up kill you, and the mythology is dope.

Grand Theft Auto 5

This is where my true nature tends to show itself. I become a bit of a sociopath, mowing down NPCs with cars and, more satisfyingly, my fists. I don’t really like to rob stores or kill PCs (because I’m horrible at it), I just like to cause mayhem. Have you seen the opening credits to Hardcore Henry? I laughed the whole way through it. That’s why I play GTA 5.

The Witcher 3

Again, this isn’t one that I would play myself. I’m too jumpy and spastic. But, the story and design of the Witcher 3 fucking blew me away. I’m in love with Ciri (who I’d name a child after if Siri didn’t exist) and Geralt. I loathed Yennifer because she’s a bitch. I loved Roach and the crazy creatures that inhabit that world. I bought Hubs the books, but might pick them up for myself.

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

