Five Fandome Friday! 5 Geeky Hobbies

Today’s prompt is kind of cool. There are all sorts of hobbies that one can fervently fall in love with, but it’s kind of what you do with them or how you look at them that came your hobbies geeky. (I’m going to list hobbies that I love, but really I spend most of my time pinning fanart on my Pinterest page. Shhhhhhhh, don’t tell anyone.)

Cooking!

There is an art and a science to cooking that can make it super geeky. Baking is a science. To take a conglomerate of powders and wet substances and turn it into a pan of gooey brownies takes a lot of chemical reactions and a leap of faith (or witchcraft, you decide).

Watercolor Painting

I really enjoy making watercolor splash art. It begins with a rough sketch of something geeky, like Totoro. Then I throw a lot of pigmented water at the paper and push it around until I think it looks pretty. Once that dries, I use caligrapher’s ink to outline my sketch and VOILA cute, geeky splash art!

Writing Fiction

This isn’t so much a hobby for me, but something I’ve desired to do with my life since I was small. I’m working on it. This is so geeky because I’m trying to create the very thing that other people are out there gushing over, fandoms.  I’m creating lovable characters, irresistible worlds, and stakes so high your ears will pop.

Decorating

I don’t get to do it often, but I do drool over all of the sick art prints and such out there on the internet. I adore being able to take the things I love an placing them in the open around my home. I have some cool Adventure Time art that I’m dying to hang somewhere! I just haven’t found the right spot.

Renaissance Festivals

I’ve only ever been to two Renaissance Festivals, but there’s one every year a couple hours from here. I’m excited to go back again this summer and take part in all of the goofy fun. The first time, my husband pressured me into renting a costume. I was a common wench with a bustier that killed after three hours in the hot sun. My sister in law had a much nicer dress with more layers. She must have had it worse.

We all like to do so many things. Some of you may like to knit or crochet and use that to make sick blankets or cute amigurumi. Others may like to craft super cool household objects or make webpages and macros.

That’s because we’re cool like that.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

2 thoughts on “Five Fandome Friday! 5 Geeky Hobbies”

Leave a Reply

