My Hair is my Canvas

This Sunday I decided that I NEEDED to get my hair cut. I woke up far too early for someone who isn’t working (because of a particular cat that has decided to serenade us at night) and spent the wee hours of the morning browsing hair styles.

I haven’t had my hair cut in over a year. I just kind of ignore it. It happens. Three years ago I cut it all off to sport a Ginnifer Goodwin pixie and everything since that has been an attempt to reclaim the awkward regrowth experience. There were a few mid length hair cuts in there, to relieve myself of the bleaching I’d done to said pixie, but that was about it.

My hair was almost past my breasts and had bleached tips sporting quadruple split ends on each hair. It was fantastic. Not. The bleached tips needed to go and I needed a reason to not to put my hair up at work in a month. That meant short.

photo (4)

As always, I went with an inverted bob. It’s my fall back and it looks great. Gone are the straight bangs, though. I feel as though I look my age with the side swept bangs, but hubs says I look even younger. I guess I should be okay with that.

Wanting some kind of edgy-ness to my hair, I decided to do the undershave. A friend shares the same kind of hair as me and loved hers. The hair dresser just took a little off the bottom, so that if I put my hair into a tiny pony tail you could see the shaved portion. I wanted a sick lotus design cut in, but she couldn’t do that. Boo.

My hair has been through a lot of transformations, including one burning bleach experience and how I tried to cover up the shame with blue but found myself rocking some sick green. Who knew green looked great on me? This time I’m going to add in some peek-a-boo ombre streaks with pink and yellow. I’ve DIYed my hair enough that I should be able to rock this.

I’m tempted to ask my mother-in-law if she’d like to cut some lines into my undercut to make it super cool. She wanted me to rainbow my bleached tips before I chopped it off!

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

8 thoughts on “My Hair is my Canvas”

  1. Your hair looks great – I love making hair the canvas…I’m dying to do something fun with mine again 🙂

    1. At your length it’s easy to do something fun with the tips and trim them off when the hair has died. I really like L’Oreal’s deep conditioner, full repair or something like that. It does wonders keeping bleached hair soft.

      1. When I had my purple hair is was basically all at the bottom third of my hair, which given how long it was, was a lot 🙂 I cut off all the purple when I was done, but then had separation anxiety due to the short length haha

Leave a Reply

