Things I Love Thursdays!

This is one theme that I’d like to make a tradition! Let’s take a look at all of the things I’m in love with this week.

Cooking/Baking

photo 3

I think it’s kind of obvious by now that I have an overwhelming obsession with cooking and baking. It’s my zen place, where I can go to turn away from my life and focus on the things that I can control. In my kitchen I can make a dense almond cake or a rockin butter thyme pasta, even if I can’t control my future.

Subscription Boxes

This is kind of an unfounded obsession. I haven’t really had that many subscription boxes in my life. Bookcase.Club was honestly really cool, while I’ve been disappointed by Loot Crate and Julep before. This month I splurged and ordered a Moon Box by Gaia Collective and the Fantasy Lit Cube.

The Moon Box from Gaia Collective sends a crystal, a sample tea or soak, and an essential oil to my door step. All of these things I absolutely love. There are so many crystals in my bedroom and I’m hoping to spread them around the house. The Lit Cube advertisement featured a cute little dragon and I could not pass that up. As cliche as dragons are, I still freaking love them.

My Husband Singing Along to Music

Bob's Burgers

This happened on our way home from grocery shopping today. It took a while for my groggy brain to break from my train of thought to realize what he was doing, but once I did I fell into the memory of us riding in his old car. Rise Against was playing and his smoky voice sung along to a familiar song.

This is the man that I love so much and sometimes I forget to think about more than just myself. I forget to tell him that I love him, that he’s my world. He hasn’t sung along to music since before his military days. It was a show of just how much better things had gotten for us.

It was a reminder that I needed today.

Gudetama

Gudetama

Oh my freaking giddiness.

I didn’t know about this cancerously adorable anime until yesterday. A Hot Topic employee that I like to chat with recommended that I check it out and I was not disappointed. All of the episodes are around a minute long and feature a super lazy egg confronted with the trials of breakfast.

It drove my husband crazzzzy. I couldn’t stop linking it in skype and our roll20 chat just to bug him. This might be a funko that I add to my collection later.

Dungeons & Dragons

D&Deisel
Vin Deisel plays Dungeons and Dragons with our favorite DM, Matt Mercer to promote his new movie.

Once upon a time I refused to partake in D&D. It was beyond that line I’d drawn in the sand, a line that said I was NOT THAT geeky. But, it was just metaphorical sand in the end and it was washed away by the wave that is my husband. Dungeons and Dragons is his motherfucking passion. He breathes it.

Over the four years of our relationship he’s chipped away at my reluctance until about a year or so ago. I now play in two games and am picking up a third until I start my full time job in May. I totally love how he DM’s and the character that I’ve built for that game, Yanna the gnome warlock who has the capacity to become a drug lord out of spite. Up next is Daphne, the dragonborn necromancer obsessed with bringing her dead garden back to life even though it was her allergies and poison sneezing that killed her garden to begin with.

Yeah, I get a little carried away with it.

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

3 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursdays!”

  1. LMAO I love that your D&D characters have an intense backstory. I had a character in Skyrim like that: Alexia, the misunderstood girl with a fondness for alchemy. She was feircly devoted to her husband though. Also, that anime looks like cuteness overload. I’m normally not into anime, but I want to watch that right meow.

Leave a Reply

