Geek Girls x Bloggers Comic Swap

So Pepi of Depepi, a Geek Anthropology Blog, had a really cool idea to involve some of the girls on our facebook group in a comic swap. Of course, I’m a big comic reader so I eagerly hopped in. I really enjoy participating in most online swaps. It feels really nice to get to know someone across the world and treat them to something, even a little something. Getting something is nice, too, of course. Since I was stateside, I was paired with Kayla Cox of Epicfied.

We chatted a little over facebook, but that was hardly a way to get to know someone. In hindsight I probably should have stalked her blog. A bit creepy, but I would have known what to have given her. Instead, I gave her a comic that I held very dear myself. I even butchered her name on the package (I felt awful).

But I’ll let her talk about that, here.

Kayla straight up asked me what was in my reading list that I didn’t have and I gave her three titles I’d put off buying. Once she mailed it out I check my PO box religiously, I was so excited. That meant drudging across a bar parking lot in pj’s and knock off uggs at nine in the morning. It was so worth it.

photo (3)

I squealed when I opened the package to find Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson, waiting inside. It was a comic that I carried around half of Powell’s Books before I found something that had been nigh impossible to find (Rat Queens 2, duh). It hurt to put it down, but budget is a bitch.

After all of my adult responsibilities had been fulfilled, I curled up in hubs game room (complete with a bean bag chair and a blanket) with Nimona. I don’t know what I expected when I read the synopsis, but this wasn’t it. And that isn’t a bad thing at all. Nimona herself is a wild teenager with out of any world powers and a villainous role model that she decides she just has to work for.

The art work is simple, yet really fun, kind of like Adventure Time. With a limited color scheme she sets up a world that is a conglomeration of science and fantasy, villainy and heroism. Stevenson also has a collection of webcomics on her own site, Gingerhaze!

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

10 thoughts on “Geek Girls x Bloggers Comic Swap”

    1. She really is! I ran down the author on the internet to stalk her site a little because I couldn’t get enough.

  1. Absolutely nothing wrong with stalking my blog, I’m flattered! haha
    I absolutely love the comic you gave me, especially since it’s one you hold dear to yourself. I love it! I can’t wait to read it. No worries on butchering my name. Epicfied might have been easier to remember. šŸ˜‰

    I’m so happy you’re happy about the swap and with Nimona. I knew you wanted it and was just hoping it would be perfect!

    1. This worked out really well and I’m glad that we’re internet buddies now. I think your name is a lot easier to remember now that I’ve failed so miserably at it the first time.

  2. What a fun swap. I’m just getting into comics this would be a great way to get recommendations. Sometimes it’s hard to know where to start with so much choice!!

Leave a Reply

