Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost

Bilbo

At the end of April, I’m scheduled to go on another adventure. This time it is a trek across a few states to visit my husband’s aunt with his mom, sister, and the foreign exchange student, Sam. Road trips with his mom are always a good time and we might hit some landmarks along the way that Sam and I haven’t seen yet.

I just wish that I wasn’t so quiet about things I wanted to do. It took several months before I raised the topic of visiting my BFF in Portland and that had just been in passing. I didn’t want to push my desire on my husband’s bank account. I didn’t want to put anyone out like that.

There are  a few other things I’d like to do, too, but I just can’t seem to find my voice. As a teen I had a subscription to a travel magazine. I would cut out photos and paste them to my wall or to a notebook where I could turn back and look at them. I was convinced that I was going to get a degree and move out west to San Francisco or Seattle. I just wanted to see the world.

Sure, I’ve seen quite a bit of the US in the past few years. I’ve driven across it twice with my mother in law and have gotten to visit San Francisco (albeit shortly and for a shitty band) and Portland. I went to Albany for a color run (5k) and I went to Baltimore for a comic-con. But, that shouldn’t be the end. It should just be a beginning.

I’d like to go back to my old college town, where my husband will be going this fall, and revisit all the places I loved or missed. We could find all the hole in the wall cafes and bookstores before we moved in. I could see Lake Ontario again. Which, as one of the Great Lakes, it’s pretty freaking great.

There was a cafe my BFF took me to that had jungle murals on the walls and board games on all the shelves that I’d like to find again. It was such a unique and cozy place that I really hope it’s still open. There was even an authentic Mexican restaurant that we went to for my b-day while I was there that I miss all the time.

This summer I know I’ll be hella busy. I’m being bumped up to Night Manager and will be training a second store and be in charge of making a lot of our product. Yay, chocolates! Boo, work. Still, I hope that I find the time in between all of that to adventure. I’d like to go hiking in a state park or even in the Adirondacks. I’ve always wanted to buy a kayak and adventure the St. Lawrence River that I grew up on. Perhaps I’ll save up or I’ll find a place to rent one.

Another thing on my list is to take my family to the Sterling Renaissance Festival (that is ironically really close to my old college town). My dad talked about going when I was in high school, but never found the time because both of my parents are kind of workaholics. They worked hard to provide for us in a super low income area of New York, but that often meant there was little time for family vacations. This summer, I want to take them to see jousting and sword fighting and all of that crazy kind of stuff.

I want to wander the world, bit by bit. I want to adventure and see all that I can instead of sitting on my couch with a book or a computer screen before me. I love books and all, but a part of me aches for sunshine and wide open spaces.

Now, I just have to convince my husband to go along with me!

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

