Altered, By Jennifer Rush

Altered

I received this book quite some time ago from BookCase.Club and it sat, patiently, waiting for me to read it. Science Fiction just didn’t draw me in as well as fantasy did, but last night I realized that I needed to read something. I needed to rekindle my love for any and all books. I used to read EVERYTHING I could get my hands on.

So, I pulled this down and cracked it open at last. The beginning had me questioning myself. It opened with a lot of description and nothing of any sort that really pulled me in. Anna was so bland that it was hard for me to root for her. I felt this way for a while so I’m not really sure when that changed and love began to creep in. I didn’t want to put it down to go to bed last night. Even when my hubs got out of bed for his customary bowl of night time cereal, I opened it back up.

Anna is the daughter of a scientist in charge of a secret experiment in the middle of rural New York. Under her house are four boys, test subjects with no memory of the people they were before the experiment. Nick hates her. Cas can’t stop moving. Trav is a fount of knowledge. Sam? He’s the one that draws her in. She knows that her heart belongs to this mysterious boy behind the glass, the one that she sneaks down to see in the middle of the night.

When The Branch comes to retrieve their test subjects, chaos erupts and before she knows it Anna’s own father is urging her to escape with the boys. Her life spirals out of control from there and the mousy girl that she had once been falls away, leaving a lot of questions.

While it began slowly, I fell in and didn’t want to come back out of this book. Rush cleverly mixed careful plot weaving with a number of riddles, leading the characters into action and intrigue. No one is who they seem to be in this book and, as a writer, I enjoyed that I couldn’t predict every plot point.

If you see this in the store or at the library, definitely give it a chance. It feels neatly wrapped up on it’s own, but there are two cheap prequels on Amazon and another two full books, one about Nick and another about Anna, if you want to keep the series going.

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

