Who Doesn’t Love Cards Games: My Ideas for Games

Lately, we’ve been playing a lot of Exploding Kittens with both families. It’s a super fun and quick game that allows you to either protect your loved one or betray the shit out of them. Hubs likes to put the exploding kitten on the top of the deck every time he defuses it, no matter who is next. He’s a pretty smart and ruthless gamer. We don’t play monopoly with him anymore.

If you know what’s good for you, at least.

Lately I’ve been thinking that I could make my own card game. It doesn’t seem that hard, especially with how many games there are already. You could take a piece of inspiration from this game and that to create something wholly fun.

Last night I had two ideas (and bear with me because these will probably never see the light of day):

Magical Girl Card Game

Sailor Moon

I would set this one up similar to Munchkin. There would be an assortment of character cards to chose from, probably mostly girls. During the course of the game you would level them up with magic items and side kicks like talking cats and fairies.

I wouldn’t put the players up against one another. This game would be more about team work. I think there should be an array of villains to battle, as well. This idea was taken from the Eldritch Horror games and how they cooperatively play against a single villain. Evil Queens and City Destroying Monsters would have special powers and armies that need to be defeated by the party.

I was on a Sailor Moon kick yesterday.

Spell Slinging Cards

Duel

I love everything witchy and witchcraft-like. This idea came from a print I found on Society six of random witchy objects like toadstools, crystals, and knives. I really wanted that on a mug, but my wallet said no.

This idea is more player vs player like Exploding Kittens. The object of the game would be to collect resources, such as herbs and crystals, to create spells to fire at other players. Each player would have a set of hit points and once they reached zero it would be game over. Last man standing wins, kind of game.

There might be incentives to make pacts with other players or rewards for betraying other players. Who knows? I imagine this as witchcraft meets wild west.

Wouldn’t these ideas be kind of rad? I can’t say my husband would happily play  the Magic Girl game, but he might have fun with the other game. Too bad I don’t know the first thing about getting these made.

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

5 thoughts on “Who Doesn’t Love Cards Games: My Ideas for Games”

Leave a Reply

