Living a Modern Spiritual Life; Two Books I’d Like to Read

All of my life I’ve been a kind of spiritual person. I was always a tree hugger and believed in magic, in a way. I was a teen when I discovered Wicca and all that it offered and it stuck most of the time. I never swayed from my beliefs, but from practices.

I have a problem with getting stuck in the drudgery that is day to day life and capital consumerism. Then, when the seasons begin to change, I feel the kind of power that I felt as a kid. I can see Mother Earth’s magic at hand, shaping the world around me into something altogether new. When the leaves begin to paint themselves crimson or when the first blanket of pure, white snow falls I can feel it.

Spring is edging in on us here in Northern New York. Yeah, it takes forever and this is actually kind of early for us. The weather has been in the high forties to fifties (Fahrenheit) and the snow has almost completely melted. It makes forgotten waterfalls come to life and creeks roar with power.

As I was debating which metaphysical subscription service I wanted to try, I came across some books that were totally out of the ordinary for me. I’m so used to earthy, hippie-esque books that were covered in various shades of green, brown, or even black. These books are vivacious, covered in shades of pink and gold!

Radical Self-Love: A Guide to Loving Yourself and Living Your Dream

Gala

I’ve heard other bloggers talk about Gala Darling, but I kind of brushed her off at first. It wasn’t until I came across an interesting Pinterest pin and happened to follow the link that I realized how much I liked her style. She writes with meaning and enthusiasm about the kind of things that I love about living a metaphysical lifestyle. I’d love to pick this book up because I think a little self love would help not only my life, but my marriage.

The Soul Searcher’s Handbook: A Modern Girl’s Guide to the New Age World

Mildon

Upon searching for Gala Darling’s book, I came across this. Now, I don’t know about Feng Shui-ing my smart phone, but this seemed like a fun introduction to the spiritual side of a metaphysical lifestyle, including good crystals for road trips and alternative healing practices. I’d really like to take a glance into this book and see a different side to my faith.

I’ve always looked at my faith as something perpetuated by middle aged women wearing floor length skirts and tie dye t-shirts. There’s nothing wrong with that, but I’m learning that there is a younger side of spiritualism growing today. Tess Whitehurst brought me into it with her book, The Magical Fashionista, and I had just assumed she was an oddball in the industry.

I can’t wait to get these books! Tell me, have you heard of Gala Darling? If so, what do you think of her blog? Are you spiritual? Atheist? Christian?

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

4 thoughts on “Living a Modern Spiritual Life; Two Books I’d Like to Read”

  1. I totally fee you on this post – any time the seasons change I feel the power of the Earth. I have Gala’s book and love it so far 🙂

  2. I’m always on a spiritual journey. I believe that there is a Greater/Higher Power, and I go from calling it God to calling it the Universe based on the moment. But I believe in non-traditional things from most “Christians”, if you would even call me a “Christian”. I have a LOT of problems with the Bible, as it was written by MEN during a time when WOMEN WERE OPPRESSED and if you look at the time in which the Bible was written, you’ll notice the correlation between how the “laws” and “rules” that “God” supposedly “made” seem to fit with what the people in power wanted in order to keep the people of lower classes in their “proper places”. *shrugs* So I’m just a spiritual mash-up. I’d really love to read that first book though! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    1. The times have changed too much for the bible. The teachings of Jesus are cool, tho. They’re all about love and helping others. We need more of that in this day and age. I definitely put myself under more of a Witch/Pagan/Wiccan umbrella, shaping my faith by taking a bit from here and there to fit how I believe.

Leave a Reply

