Five Fandom Friday: Geeky Tattoos!

I’ve already written posts on this subject, but it’s one of my faves so let’s keep going. My very first tattoo was the old school script lettering Wonder Woman logo. It sits on my rib cage, just around my bra strap. But, this is the only geeky tattoo that I’ve gotten so far!

A lot of the time I think up cool tattoos that I’d love to have. I have ideas of where life could take me and I’m not entirely sure that my path looks highly on tattoos, so I have to pick and choose what I’m doing. I know I’m going to be working hard this summer and I want to treat myself to a tattoo eventually.

One idea I have is actually a cover up. I have three, small black bats on the front of one shoulder and three, small black birds on the other. They did not heal well at all, scarring in some places and completely falling apart in others. They are just not pretty anymore.

On Pinterest (or somewhere online) I saw a traditional swallow tattoo. Or, at least, it was in the shape of a swallow. The inside of the bird was a galaxy. It would be insanely cool if I could cover the shoulder tattoos with matching galaxy swallows. They’d hurt, but they’d make me feel so much better about myself.

photo 2 (1)

Another idea I toyed with lately was a Sailor Moon themed tat. I drew up some concept designs, mixing a traditional dagger in the rose design with a Moon Wand. It might end up being too big for me in the end, but it’s a really cool idea.

I’m huge into Norse mythology and really love Freya. She’s the goddess of love, marriage, AND war. She’s a total badass and I’d love to find room for her on my body. My upper right arm is totally empty and Dani Green did a rendition of Freya that totally inspired me.

food-colorful-dessert-sweet-large

I’ve always wanted something to signify my love for baking and cooking. One of my favorite concepts was a whisk and a spatula tied together with a pretty ribbon. Other concepts included a pencil, paint brush, and a pen for all of the other things I love to do. That would go on the inside of my right arm if I had the guts.

howl

Finally, and this will happen some day, will be my Studio Ghibli thigh piece. This will cost hella dollars, but I’m so intent on getting it done that I don’t think anyone could change my mind. I’d like it to include not only Haku and the Bathhouse, but Calcifer, Howl and Sophie, Kiki and Jiji, as well as San.

My skin is where I can carry the things I love around for the rest of my life. I have my love for my husband inscribed on my ring finger (which is great when m y wedding ring doesn’t fit). I have my own art embedded into my foot. I carry a reminder of my grandmother’s gardens around on my arm. I can have the joy of Ghibli movies, the feminine strength of a Sailor Scout, a freaking goddess, space birds, and a reminder of the power of my creativity on me at all times.

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

11 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday: Geeky Tattoos!”

    1. I love that even pretty art can be important to me. Its the only near surefire way to make something permanently yours.

  1. AH, I LOVE HOW YOU WRITE~!! *o* All of your tats, both what you have now and what you’d like, sound amazing. I have some Sailor Moon tat love on my own list. <3<3 Also, I follow many Norse Gods and Goddesses, and Freyja truly is amazing.

  2. Those galaxy swallows sound amazing. I adore galaxy print so a galaxy tat is so up my street plus it would be a great twist on the more traditional Swallow tattoo design! Great 5 x

Leave a Reply

