My Feelings on Fanfic

All of  my life I’ve known at least one thing.

I wanted to be a writer.

I wanted to create stories, characters, villains, and worlds. I was making things up all the time once I passed the age of playing “make-believe” and into the realm of “young adult”. I wrote short stories in the back of notebooks, on the family computer, or in the corners of class notes. Characters would go to class with me. Stories would weave themselves as I laid down to sleep or in the shower.

Story means a lot to me.

I appreciate stories other than my own, too. I adore Howl’s Moving Castle and the Night Circus. Anything by Charles De Lint sends me into an a week of floating happiness. Kim Harrison and Laurell K Hamilton make me feel strong. But, not once did I ever consider taking on their characters or their worlds with my own words.

That doesn’t feel right to me. Once another person takes on a story it changes. It is no longer the original thing, but something similar with the same name slapped onto it. It’s like ordering the same thing at different restaurants. You’re not always guaranteed to get the same dish, honestly.  Curry can mean a great many different flavors.

I prefer to leave the worlds of other authors alone. They are revered in that way, a piece of art that I don’t dare touch. I much prefer to play god with my own characters. I know them much better, inside and out. There is no set of rules or boundaries that I need to prescribe to in order to create my own story.

Which is how we create new stories that we fall in love with, new worlds we want to fall into. So don’t ever expect me to write fanfic. There’s just so much more in me.

Charlie

Save

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

9 thoughts on “My Feelings on Fanfic”

  1. I feel the exact same way! It feels sort of sacrelig to take characters that already have a story and create a new world for them. I’ve never been able to read fanfic for that reason. Great post! You’re not alone in your thoughts!

  2. I feel the same way about fanfiction. Although, some of it can certainly be good there is enough about it that isn’t good. Such as taking an author’s characters and changing their motivations and loves. I understand that people have things they’d like to see but it was never the author’s intention for certain events to unfold, which is why they didn’t. I agree with you that a character should stay as the author created them.

    1. Someone told me they were reading a Fanfic about Steve Rogers (Captain America) owning a tattoo parlor. That….is so not who Steve Rogers is.

      1. Right, I’ve never been one to change a shipping. I saw a fanfic about a male and female paring in Mortal Kombat that are not even remotely romantically interested in each other….one being the guy is gay………….yet there it was.

  3. I’ve only read fanfic for the Sookie Stackhouse series because I literally just couldn’t deal with how terribly she ended the 13 book series. I think this is such an interesting take on fanfic. I know the little bits of fanfic did make me forget what was actually “real” or something additional I had read.

  4. I’m with you on the fanfic front. I could never write any because I’d be horrible at it and the originals are just too magical to mess with. I can see the pleasure some fans must get out of weaving different stories into an already existing world. which is great too because if we all liked the same stuff it would be a yawn!

Leave a Reply

