Cats and Planes, Yeah You Read That Right

I am a bundle of nerves and excitement all at once. Tomorrow, I board a plane headed west to visit my very best friend. I can’t believe that it has been over two years since we’ve seen each other in the flesh. That is far too long.

We’ve both changed a bit since then, gaining weight, growing out our pixie cuts (that I will never do again because I looked just like my mother), and just becoming older versions of ourselves, but we’re still the people that we grew to love.

She lives in the oddball city of Portland, Oregon where weird is the norm and weed may or may not have been legalized. I have to say that this city has been on my bucket list for a while now simply because it welcomes everything odd and strange like myself. Part of me just can’t believe that I’m really going.

Another part of me is dreading the long flight. It definitely won’t be the first time I’ve suffered an East coast to West coast flight, having endured many from our time spent living in California while family lives in New York.

Be sure to expect a lot of Instagram pics! I don’t think I’m even going to bring my digital camera because the phone is just so much more convenient.

In other news, we adopted cat number two. It was a upon a whim that we ventured into the local Pet Smart to look at rodents and found ourselves looking at cats. I fell in love with an older, long haired black feline, but it wasn’t meant to be. She just wouldn’t be playful enough for our rambunctious boy cat.

About a week later, after seeing him desperately try to play with my parent’s dog we decided to get him a playmate. We went to the local SPCA to see what they had and I was drawn to the tiniest black cat. Yes, I really have a thing for black cats. She rolled her head into my hand and I was done for.

I was worried that our landlord would say no. He initially didn’t want pets in the apartment. So, it was miraculous that he said yes to cat number two. Not like they had anything to be afraid of. Since we’ve brought Luna home she’s tucked herself away in every unassuming corner she could find.

photo

Her favorite place so far has to be within the depths of the blankets on the couch. Even Hex saw fit to join her, on a separate couch cushion of course. Their relationship is still new and she’s still really afraid, but mostly he leaves her alone and runs off to eat her food, the prick.

She’s so darn tiny. I feel as though I may break her if I pet her too hard. This will be a before and after photo process for sure.

 

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

3 thoughts on “Cats and Planes, Yeah You Read That Right”

  1. Aw she’s SO sweet! We have a black cat too named Harley (Quinn). Black cats are the BEST. I mean yeah… I love our ginger boys Bruce & Oliver very much too… but Harley is my sweet baby girl. 😀

    Congrats on expanding your kitty family ❤

    1. Thanks! We’ve somehow re-created my husband’s childhood cats. Black and White cat and a black cat xD

Leave a Reply

