We Could Always Use More Chari-Tee

Each and every one of us has something to offer to the world around us. I think this has been a lesson that I learned from my Mother-in-law, a truly giving woman. It always have to be something expensive, like our time. Or, that could be what you have freely to give. I loved my volunteer time at the library in California, setting up kid’s reading time and running kid events. My Mother-in-Law likes to volunteer, to donate, to give her heart to those who need it.

She passed that on to her son, too. But that isn’t why I’m talking about this. I found out about the Extra Life registration much too late to register for this year (also, who knows where I’ll be when the day comes to live Twitch). Since I couldn’t participate in that, I wanted to bring to your attention ways that you could give and get in return that I thought were really cool and you might, too.

Creation Stands

I can’t remember how I found this site, but I’m in love. The site offers not only Supernatural, but Star Trek, and Vampire Diaries exclusive tees and such that donate to charities that the actors feel strongly about.

Jared Padalecki has admitted to his struggle with depression and dearly wants to help others fight through it as well. If you bought Jared’s (Sam’s) you are contributing to the Pack Fund (a combination of Padalecki and Ackles). This fund contributes to charities like To Write Love On Her Arms, Random Acts, and Wounded Warrior. Abbadon’s shirt gives proceeds to the Ronald McDonald House!

Each popular character gets a collection in their name and really cool tee designs. I want to throw all of my money at them!

TeeFury

This took a bit of searching, but I found it. Teefury, everyone’s favorite tee shop, has a collection of really sweet tees with their own unique charities attached. I really love the Thuranduil (King of the Woodland Realm) tee that gives back to the World Wildlife Fund. I’m sure with a bit of searching you could find the perfect match between tee and charity for you.

And what about Pup Culture?! Save puppies and be adorable. Yes, please.

Amazon Smile

I find this to be really cool. Amazon has a special part of their site set up so that you can choose a charity and part of your purchase will go to that charity. This doesn’t jack up the price of anything you buy. Instead, it takes a small portion of your sale out for donation.

What I think is really cool about this is that you can pick any charity in their system. I haven’t done this yet, but I recently learned that my local library system is one of those charities! Do you realize how much I spend on amazon?

I’m sure we all use Amazon for whatever. You can be using it to give back, too.

I was really moved by these sites. Sometimes I feel bad when I realize that I’m so caught up in my first world problems that I forget others have it horrendously worse. I should try volunteering at the library again. I wish there was a closer SPCA, too.

Even if we can’t give back in huge ways, there are little ways that we can try to help the other people that are giving back. As always, make sure your charity of choice is on the up and up, meaning a large portion of their donations go directly to their cause.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

3 thoughts on “We Could Always Use More Chari-Tee”

  1. I just started using it when I realized it would donate to our library system. I really wanted a SPN mug from Creation Stands, but shipping was more than the mug. I was so disheartened.

Leave a Reply

