Five Fandom Friday: CAKES GALORE

I haven’t participated in a 5FF in a few weeks. The prompts just haven’t moved me enough to try and I didn’t want to just go through the motions of something I wasn’t feeling. But, really. Cupcakes. That did it. Of course my first thought was to make five different cupcakes for the prompt. That would be a hell of a lot of batches of cupcakes and I don’t know whose throat I’d shove them down to get rid of them all.

So you’ll have to deal with something a little different. I’m going to go with my five favorite bakers. Over the course of deciding to make my blog more about food, I came across some really awesome bakers doing really awesome things. I think you’ll agree.

(Bear with me as I share links, but not photos due to copyright fears. Do take a gander at their work.)

5fandomfriday

Christine Mcconnell

She isn’t a professional baker. In fact, she’s actually a photographer by trade. Her work in the kitchen will have anyone fooled, though. She made a life size Facehugger (you know? Aliens) cake that creeped the ever loving shit out of me. I hate aliens. Nightmares. Everytime.

Her pumpkin pie carriage, on the other hand, was a fantastical masterpiece that I would be happy to dream about. The woman does so much more than bake. She sews her own holiday GOWNS. Like seriously haute couture worthy gowns. She also takes it upon herself to deck out her parents home for the holidays, hand crafting insanely detailed decorations that transform the whole house into a gingerbread house or a monster.

She has a book coming out and I’m dying for it. I’ll just drool on it anyway.

Katharina McCawley

I came across this baker on Pinterest. She is a professionally trained pastry chef and it shows in her adaptation of Sailor Scouts into supremely stunning desserts. I could only dream of someday making cakes like these, but she seems to pull them off without a hitch. Her latest post is a gingerbread house replica of the Gravity Falls Mystery Shack.

Excuse me while I roll on the ground fangirling in jealousy. How many years and tears do I have to sacrifice in order to be able to do that? Have you seen this?

Katherine Sabbath

I have this new obsession with really simple yet dramatic cakes. I’m talking no fondant or life-like sculpting. Just simple cake shaped cakes. Katherine Sabbath delivers in spades.

By day she’s a teacher in Australia. In her downtime she creates stunning cakes bursting with color. My favorite might be the pink and blue melted ice-cream cone cake. The color contrast and whimsy slay me.

Domestic Gothess

I think the cake obsession began with this beautiful and dark cake. It looks so elegant and commanding, like an evil queen. If Regina from OUAT had a birthday cake, this would be it.

Domestic Gothess shares a plethora of every day recipes, like a skillet chocolate chip cookie for two that made me drool, as well as her dramatic cakes. I wonder if she found Marcel Desaulniers gorgeous Death by Chocolate books because this cake… it looks like she might take up voodoo on the side and I’m totally okay with that.

Marcel Desaulniers

This might have been the beginning of my cake love. As a teenager in love with cooking and food, I stumbled across Desserts to Die For in my local library. The sultry cakes and their even more sultry names struck me in the most odd way. Chocolate Voodoo Cake and Rum Soaked Zombie cake were only the tip of the iceberg. They inspired some of my short stories as well as something I plan on working on soon.

As I write this, I’m dying to work on my next recipe project after being inspired by so many talented bakers. Can you say Cookie Dough Truffles? But hubs has finally crawled out of his room and wants to hang out. Decisions!

 

 

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

8 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday: CAKES GALORE”

  1. Woah, such a wonderful list… 😮 too bad I stopped the sugar intake. I suppose I can change the sugar for another thing tho~ (I still need to experiment baking without sugar lOl I had no time for it)

    1. Stevia is kind of expensive, but a substitute that I can get behind. Also, applesauce works wonderfully in a lot of recipes.

Leave a Reply

