When Your Etsy Store Bombs

Last November, my Sister-in-Law and I put up an etsy store together. Our wares were varied, depending on what each of us were separately making, and our storefront was really unpolished. It was no wonder that it just tanked. We haven’t even had one sale.

That lead to a whole can of emotional worms, of course. It kind of put me in a ‘Why Bother’ kind of mood. I had all these ideas for crafts I’d like to try, but it felt as though they would fail as well. I reminded myself that we were too varied as it was. As much as I wanted to craft, I couldn’t find it in myself to even bother.

I’ve had enough time to step back from it and look at all the things I did wrong. Perhaps the biggest problem might have been what I was making. They weren’t high demand products or even what I loved doing. I had stopped doing what I loved.

A bit of living room rearranging reminded me of what I loved. I came across a small watercolor paper sketch book and a stack of paintings I’d shoved onto my bookcase. Hidden among books I hadn’t read in ages were watercolor splatter paintings I’d done of Studio Ghibli characters. In the sketchbook was a half finished Sailor Moon wand painting. Why hadn’t I been showcasing these? Why hadn’t I been finishing these?

photo 2 (1)

photo 3 (1)

Hubs thinks I’m always in such a sour mood and for a while, I was eager to argue. Perhaps I was, the depression of feeling inadequate always just under the surface. I think that the best remedy might be to pick the watercolor brush back up and pick up where I left off. I’ll most likely never be as good as some of my art heroes, like Kelly McKernan, but I loved doing it. I’d like to make more Sailor Scout wand paintings to go with the first one. Would prints of these paintings sell on etsy?

Of course I want to keep the originals for myself. I can be greedy like that.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

13 thoughts on “When Your Etsy Store Bombs”

  1. The Sailor Moon painting is way cute, but I adore those watercolor Studio Ghibli ones! I would buy that Jiji and the Soot Sprites in a second!

  2. I’ve totally been through I think at least 5 phases of this, most of what I try to sell I stash away and sometimes repurpose later. NEVER GIVE UP!!!! Especially with art! I went through an off 5 year period where I didn’t create and it was, looking back, the most depressing time of my life. Getting back into it is even harder. D:
    The best advice I recently got from one of my heros is to create every day, even if you don’t want to.

    1. I agree. The days I don’t create feel gray. Yesterday’s watercolors were such mood lightened. Today, wrote 1000 words. I’m proud of myself!

  3. Try it! The fist year I was on Etsy I had 0 sales, the second year 1 sale, then 30, then 100. I changed my products, kept making what was working, and just kept moving forward. You never know till you try!

  4. The Studio Ghibli prints are adorable!! I currently have my Etsy shop shut down. Got tired of running it. Lol

    -Jessica (aka The Nifty Nerd)

  5. Aw, sorry to read this. However, you should keep trying and doing what you love. I think that the secret is doing what you really love. Your Ghibli prints are super cute!! ❤

Leave a Reply

