Game Review: Exploding Kittens!

I bought this a while back, but it sat, diligently waiting for more people than just my husband and I to play. This weekend his mom, sister, and Sam, the foreign exchange student with a twisted sense of humor to rival my own, visited for a game day. I ran for this box, excited to really give it a try.

photo 1 (2)

There was a lot of confusion first thing, but I blame that on teenage texting and my mother-in-law’s slow, but steady style of learning. The instructions really only take up one small portion of the inside pamphlet.

Really quickly, the game began to get faster and faster. The deck dwindled down until there was nothing but explosions left. You had to cleverly evade them or get blown up. Each person begins with one Defuse card to evade the exploding kitten cards. It’s a one time use and there are chances that other players could steal it from you. Other ways to evade explosion include looking into the future, aka the top three cards, and attacking, or making the next player take two turns. Of course, someone can always Nope your actions, like Hubs did, promptly saving my life in early game.

I grabbed the NSFW, Not Safe For Work, edition because everyone has reached the age where that’s acceptable and funny. There were penis pretzels, titty kitties, and other cards that made my Mother-in-law blush. You can always opt for the original, kid-safe edition if you have younguns in the household. It is a really fun and fast paced card game to play with friends and family. My sister-in-law is searching for her own Exploding Kittens game.

BDS CAT
I couldn’t help myself.

I can’t wait until they come out with some expansion packs to make it even more fun and interesting. The deck itself is quite small for the box that it comes in. That was the only disappointment that came with this. I’m looking forward to playing it with my parents next time.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

13 thoughts on “Game Review: Exploding Kittens!”

    1. I can’t wait for expansions. We have nearly all of the Cards Against Humanity expansions sewing as it’s our fallback game.

    1. It is rated for 2-6 players. It might be a longer game, but be even quicker back and forth. Hubs and I haven’t tried it with just the two of us yet.

Leave a Reply

