Donabe by Naoko Takei Moore and Kyle Connaughton

9781607746997

When I placed the order for this book I was excited to have a chance at trying some recipes that I often see in my favorite animes and such. Studio Ghibli movies like Spirited Away make Japanese recipes look so darn good. While I did find some really interesting and delicious looking recipes, the layout of the book really turned me off. The beginning is a huge chunk devoted to the donabe itself, which is understandable. I forgave that because the photos were so beautiful. But, once I made it to the recipes the ingredients list called for entire recipes that were hidden away at the back of the book and I just didn’t know it.

While I do plan on trying some of the delicious looking recipes like the Chicken Hot Pot and Pork Snowballs, I find that this could have been better laid out for the adventurous home cook.

Disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for Books for free in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

