Getting my Geeky Friday On

5 Ways I’m Going to Take Chances in 2016?

5fandomfriday

The first seemed to have just popped up yesterday. My hubs grandmother is a newspaper clipper and the kind of woman who seems to have anything you’re looking for. She was the one who scored us a free wedding cake and secured our apartment once we moved back to New York.

Yesterday hubs came home from a visit with her and handed me a newspaper clipping. On it was an ad for help wanted at the library HALF A MILE down our road. It’s not even twenty hours a week, but it’s more than I’m making now, plus this could show me if I really want to become a librarian!

I’m scared and excited all at once.

The second way I’m taking a chance in 2016 is with my blog. I’m doing a whole revamp to focus it more around geek themed foods, baking to be exact. I love to bake. It’s my zen space. But sharing that on the internet is kind of scary. Baking is a science with so many places for error that most likely I’ll have more mistakes than successes.

The hope is to have a polished blog, a loving following, and more successes than mistakes to show for it.

The third way I plan on taking a chance in 2016 involves hubs. Turns out the school I thought he’s go to doesn’t have his degree. I was happy with that school because I’d gone there and I knew the lay of the land. Now, he’s forced to choose a place I’ve never been to. It means once more learning a new place and a lot of getting lost.

I thought I was done with that once he was out of the military. I guess I was wrong, but perhaps I should look  at this like an adventure.

The fourth way I plan on taking a chance in 2016 involves going back to school myself. I don’t have what my hubs has from being in the military. We have to pay for my school and that makes it feel like a huge leap of faith. I really hope that I’ve chosen the right path. I love books and everything bookish. I hope that the rest of it falls into place as I’m learning and possibly working.

I just hope 2016 leads me to the person that I want to be.

The fifth way I’m taking a chance in 2016 is possibly a trip to Portland! My best friend has been living out there for quite some time now. Last August I had made plans to fly out and visit her, but hubs Military life interrupted those plans. We were forced to move back home and I immediately went into a fulltime job.

I’m unemployed right now, which means sooooo much free time. Hubs offered to foot the bill for me to fly alone to Portland. I’ve never flown alone before! I’ve never been in such a large city before. I’m so excited to finally be able to tour the city with my best friend.

Which leads me to Funko Friday.

Rumple

I promise I didn’t buy another one, although with Hot Topic HotCash live I seriously debated buying six more. No, this one came as a late Christmas present from the Bestie. She’s the one who reignited my love for Once Upon a Time. I got the Regina Funko in honor of her favorite character and my growing love for Regina.

Bestie got me Rumple.  I fucking adore Rumplestiltskin. I love the actor’s beautiful separation of Gold and Rumple and how some of their actions carry over into one another. I love his love for Belle despite his power hungry, sneaky bitch ass.

 

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

13 thoughts on “Getting my Geeky Friday On”

      1. That’s part of what keeps me as a stay at home mom – there are some days I really want to go back to work, but then I worry I won’t like it and will just want to go back home.

    1. Oh, and I hope that you love Portland. It’s such an awesome city, and there’s so much to do. Definitely hit up Powell’s—it’s a GIANT bookstore that I could spend days in without caring. 🙂

  1. That library job sounds fun! Fingers crossed that works out for you<3 And hooray for going back to school! I know that's scary, but I hope you have fun with it! That Rumple Funko is basically perfection. I see a new Funko in my near future:P

  2. I want the job so much now… resume has been printed and will be taken in as soon as I can! Thanks for the support everyone!

  3. Love the idea of Geeky themed foods. I am going to try and be a bit more kitchen friendly and that would be fun! Also a trip to Portland how fun! Happy 2016 best of luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

