Lessons Learned in the Kitchen Today

I recently purchased Rosana Pansino’s Nerdy Nummies cookbook as inspiration. Flipping through the pages reveals a plethora of the cutest and coolest baked goods decorated as some of our favorite things. one recipe I particularly liked was for iced sugar cookies that looked like old fashioned Ninetendo controllers.

Silly me didn’t use the cookie recipe in that book or completely follow the royal icing recipe as well as I should have. The result was sugar cookies with too much spread as they baked, turning into a sheet of cookie, and icing that ran right through my piping bag.

Cookies

Needless to say, I have some lessons to learn before I get this blog re-vamp up and running. I promise I’m not always this incompetent. (Though I promise they’re tasty and don’t they kind of remind you of Wildberry Poptarts?)

  1. I really need to understand the science behind ingredients before I begin swapping them around. I replaced shortening with extra butter and baking soda and tartar powder with baking powder. This definitely had to do with the spread of my cookies as they baked.
  2. Follow directions the first time you make a recipe, then tweak after you get the basics of it down. My icing was runny because I didn’t add nearly enough powdered sugar to it before I deemed it “finished”. So, when I began to pipe on the initial color it just ran into a gooey mess. All details were lost.
  3. Write notes. If I’m going to share recipes that I’ve tweaked and methods that I’ve learned I should write them down as I do them. During the process I thought of lines to describe why or why not I’d do something then promptly forgot them after the whole shebang was over.

Today I learned that I’m not immediately ready for what I planned on doing. I’m infatuated with iced cookies so I really want to master them before I share the process with you guys. Hopefully, I’ll be able to post other recipes that I’ve already mastered, tweaked to bring out the geek in all of us.

I had a really sweet Rat Queens idea the other day. If you haven’t started reading Rat Queens yet, you really should. It’s a rollicking good time through some feminist sword and sorcery… or as they call it “Sass and Sorcery”.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

5 thoughts on “Lessons Learned in the Kitchen Today”

    1. Thanks! Loved the Icing 201. I think I’ll tweak the cookie until I find a soft recipe that can be iced. My mom always made sugar cookies at Christmas, so I may have to nag her for that recipe.

  1. Still look neat, even if they weren’t what you were trying to achieve. Admittedly I haven’t been watching Ro’s videos lately because I’ve become ridiculously jealous. Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

