Carrie Fisher, a Story of Grace and Sass

carrie-fisher
Source: Google Image Search

Hubs is a huge Star Wars fan. There were some nights after our wedding that he would put in the VHS tapes and fall asleep to the sound of the original trilogy. So, when I was telling him how much I admired Carrie Fisher I was flabbergasted when he had no idea who that was.

Are you serious? You? Of all people? You know who fucking played Chewbacca, but not Princess Leia?

I was heartbroken.

This woman who recently returned to the spotlight has been and always will be one of my role models. Heck, I’ve convinced myself that my dad named me after her. Of course, it has been thirty plus years since she’s been in the spotlight and things have changed for her. Time is not great to a woman’s body. One thing that hasn’t changed seems to be society’s expectations of a woman.

People everywhere have been criticizing her appearance, claiming that she isn’t who grown-up Princess Leia should look like. Um, have you all seen the original trilogy? She IS Princess Leia. I think that’s probably the only stipulation for looking like a grown-up Princess Leia, the General Organa. Time happens to everyone and I’m sure that General Organa hasn’t spent the past thirty some years eating celery and living in a gym. Girl has work to do!

Carrie Fisher, the woman behind the Princess, has taken a lot of criticism lately. But, she doesn’t fold under it all. Things are getting pretty petty out there. Everyone wants to know if the casting agents asked her to lose weight. Carrie takes it with grace, saying that it’s a question that has nothing to do with the movie itself. All that wonderful sass comes out and she dishes it right back at them. In one Tweet, she calls her body a bag for her brain. She’s right when she says that youth and beauty aren’t accomplishments. You get maybe 40 good years, with the right DNA. After that fades, what do you have?

Well, in Carrie Fisher’s case, a sharp wit and so much dignified sass that I can’t even. I love this woman so much right now. I know that much of this has to hurt, but she’s taken a fighting stance against it, advocating her brain and value as a person. This is someone I’ve always looked up to. No wonder I’m so sassy myself.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

