Adventures as a Lady Dungeon Master

Let me introduce you to the troubled city of Ivobridge. It exists solely in the minds of my D&D players and, well, myself. It is a sword and sorcery type place. The city itself is dissected by a river, distinctly marking Uptown and the not so great side of the city. It is connected by a system of bridges to a long, thin island filled with shops. A council runs the entire city, but for how long?

This is honestly one of my fist attempts at DMing a longer term game. Most of my games ending after one or two sessions because of time constraints, my own frustrations, or lack of knowledge. I still don’t know enough, but I have two DMs playing (it helps immensely). We use a combination of Skype and Roll20.net to conduct our game, a fun foray into my imaginary world.

This tale begins with a wanted ad dispersed through the shadier side of town, West Ivobridge. It simply says Adventurers Needed, Come in Person to Council Keep and a date. Four people answer this ad. Some out of boredom, others out of loneliness, and others for reasons they haven’t yet confessed to even themselves. One, a noble man seeking to spread his family name. Another a drow paladin with dark powers. A man with a minor illusion and a screw loose. Then, a kobold with very strange mechanical gear. All of them secreted into a small meeting room in East Ivobridge’s Council Keep, they meet a frightened young man.

Trying to keep his problems from his superiors, he asks this ragtag group to assist him in a kind of…extermination. Goblins have invaded his family home, terrorizing his family and servants. Intrigued out of boredom or bought, if you will, they agree to help this man and find themselves on the edges of the city. Homes become larger, the lands more sprawling. His home is one of beauty from the outside, but inside the group can tell that something has been causing trouble.

They find a goblin caught in a birdcage on a kitchen counter. The old cook wants information while the young servant is noticeably frightened. Much happens from here on out, including the loss of a certain minor illusion, the stabbing of a caged goblin, and a bit of squabbling.

Tabitha, our drow paladin, vows to vanquish all things undead. She never expected a fellow party member to be a denizen of the undead. She also never expected him to be a few apples short of a bushel. The DM also didn’t expect a certain kobold’s gun to blast so efficiently through her goblin horde.Community

We left them in search of a missing servant girl after goblins raided the noble home once more. The kobold and undead gentleman got quite the kick out of an eighty year old cook wielding a cast iron pan as a rather efficient weapon. I kind of liked playing Gertie, too.

Needless to say, I had fun with my first episode. The second was a bit unsteadied by my own ignorance of the game and timing as well as the addition of an awkward luchador player. They did thwart an assassination attempt, mostly, and found out that an NPC is trying to overthrow the council. We took a week off because the holiday season had me busy and strung out, but I’m looking forward to our next session. I’m definitely throwing in more fun NPC characters and playing up a character flaw one player chose for my own amusement.

Fingers crossed! Can’t wait to see what they will do next.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

