Happy Holidays and Blessed New Year

 

SleepyI didn’t really mean to take off any time this week, but it kind of happened. Sunday was Christmas with the In-Laws extended family and Monday was Christmas baking with my mom. Tuesday was for errands and Crtitical Role and today was wasted on Chipotle and buying more Funkos (adding Sherlock and the Tenth Doctor to Tina Belcher, BB-8, and the Eleventh Doctor I also got for Christmas).
Because of BookCase.Club I have fallen in love with Sophronia Temminick or Etiquette and Espionage. I just used a gift card I received Sunday to purchase the digital copy of book THREE. Yes, I’m already on book three. I saved money on the card for book four in case I need it as much as I needed this one. Gail Carriger created quite a fantastical steampunk world filled with vibrant characters.
On another note I’ve decided that if I can muster the funds I’d like to go back to school. It won’t be a brick and mortar kind of schooling. Instead, I’m opting for online classes while my hubs goes to a school downstate. I really want this. I need it to happen. I already spent the evening applying for several scholarships on Unigo. They were fun little scholarships with big earnings that required a simple essay of 250 words each. When prompted to pick a superhero/villain to trade places with for a day I chose Sailor Moon.
My hope is to find a decent, accredited Library Science degree online that will accept my Associate’s Degree. I also hope to be able to find quite a bit in scholarships because I already know how much student debt hurts. After that the dream job would to be to work in a K-12 school library, much like the one I grew up with (yes, my school was that small).
I want to encourage reading, to encourage critical thinking, to prevent bullying, and hopefully work against suicide rates in young adults. I want to wear my geeky fashion to work every day. I want to create cool displays for equally cool books. I want to organize reading challenges. I want to continue writing my own books, even if it’s just the trilogy I was working on.
Let me know if any of you know of a scholarship I can get on board with. I’m nothing but hope at this point. Well, that and perhaps a bit of wishcraft.

Happy Holidays to all of you, the coolest community on the blogger block. May all of you New Years resolutions rock.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

3 thoughts on “Happy Holidays and Blessed New Year”

  1. I hope you can find a school. My BFF got her MS in library science 🙂 Happy Christmas and New Years!

  2. I know I change my mind a lot, but I can see myself really enjoying this career path. Schools are easy to find, money is not. But we’re going to work hard to save and hopefully my Associates can put some of the work to rest.

Leave a Reply

