EmilySculpts: Art, Nature, and Fantasy in Sculpture

I’ve dabbled in polymer clay. I have a few little faery houses for sale on my Etsy shop and even made my own Totoro charm and a little Calcifer. But, damn, if I can’t even hold a candle to Emily Coleman of Emily Sculpts. I mean, the woman has been sculpting since 2001 and taught traditional art at Full Sail University from 2006-2012.

I can’t tell you how I came across her site. It just kind of happened after a late night of web surfing and falling down I don’t know how many rabbit holes. But, when I found it I was hooked. Coleman creates fantastical creatures, many of them with ties to nature because Coleman cares about the environment around her.

citrino_400w

Her Crystal Bromeliad Arbori are the cutest little fantastical creatures in pots I’ve ever seen. They come in several varieties, from types of crystal, to types of creature, to young and adult creatures. Coleman created a wolf, phoenix, and dragon in this series. It’s freaking adorable.

The Adults are $75 and the young Crystal Bromeliads are $60. Don’t worry, she also offers pendants, magnets, and adorable stickers. And the Sapling Deciduous Arbori are $45. One miiiiiiight come home with me.
adult1_400w

Coleman is working on a much larger scale Forest Emperor Project. Her hope with doing a large scale melding of fantastical creature and nature is that she can bring more awareness to the care and preservation to our environment. She’s right when she says that it should be honored.

emperor

Check out the progress of the Forest Emperor Project on Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, and Kickstarter.

If you think you’d like to try doing what she does, she offers a class that you can buy here and a book that you can buy here. I’m tempted. I won’t lie. So is my sister-in-law.

*All rights to the photos displayed here belong to Emily Coleman and EmilySculpts.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

