Five Fandom Friday: Holiday Traditions before and after Marriage

A few years ago my life changed for the better. I married the man I love. Then we moved away from home and the Holidays stopped feeling like the Holidays. We weren’t a hop, skip, or a jump away from family. We were 12 hr flights away. Not fun.

Finally, we are back home. Across the street from his grandparents, in fact. I’m so excited for this year’s Christmas. There’s no piling in the car right after festivities. There’s no racing to flights in two feet of snow.

Here are the Holiday Traditions I observed before and after marriage.

Holiday Traditions Before Marriage

  1. Watching A Christmas Story for 24 hours straight. Because duh. We’d get up every Christmas morning and put on TBS and switch it back if anyone changed the channel.
  2. Mom and me baking marathon days before Christmas. We fling flour and batter at each other. It’s a fun experience. Everyone I knew got a really big tin of sweet goodies. Believe me, baking is my calling.
  3. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation is my parents’ favorite Christmas movie. They quote it all year round. I can’t tell you how many times we would watch this movie before Christmas. Mom and Dad are still looking for those moose cups they had for eggnog.

Holiday Traditions I hope to have During Marriage

  1. Adding new geeky ornaments to the tree each year. (Last year we had a Cthulu hand puppet on the top of our black tree). My mom gave me some cute felt owls and his mom gave us a Wonder Woman. We’d already added a bunch of Star Wars to the collection, too.
  2. Even more baking with my stash of really cool cookie cutters (Ninja Bread men and Star Wars space ships). I’m so excited to bake with my mom this year. We can finally do it at MY place.
  3. This year it seems as though we were giving each other gifts all month long. I accidentally spoiled the surprise for his gift to me so I got to open it early and I wanted to see him smile so I gave him a couple of his gifts a bit early. Needless to say we went out and bought even more after that. They weren’t expensive gifts, just things to say I know you and I love you.

The Holidays, no matter what you observe, should be about love and peace. For me, it’s about my family. It’s about the family I grew up with and the family that I’ve chose to join. I hope that you, too, get to spend the Holidays with someone that you love and loves you just as much!

EDIT: I’ve noticed some of you creating you Funko selves and thought that I needed to get in on this. My Funko turned out pretty adorable if I say so myself.

Leah's Pop

I tend to wear a lot of black and purple and I definitely favor combat boots. I own all sorts of boots to make my tiny form look a bit more kick-ass. My long green hair is no longer green, but back to my natural shade of brown. And the witch hat was the cutest way of showing my wiccan side.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

5 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday: Holiday Traditions before and after Marriage”

  1. Aw, yay! Congrats on being back near the family- that definitely makes it easier! And we have a geek-ornament tree, too….it’s a brilliant idea. I JUST made cookies with the Ninja Bread men (Frank is the best silly kitchen gadget company ever)- they come out really well, as long as you’re gentle around the feet. Have a great time baking!

    1. I love cookie cutters, not that I use them much. I used them to make cinnamon salt dough ornaments for my tree last year and they still smell great.

  2. Love your Funko! She turned out really cute. I think it’s great that you’re keeping holiday traditions in your marriage! My husband and I have only been married a year and a half, so it’s fun coming up with new things that we like to do together for the holidays. How cute that you keep buying presents for each other! Our presents never last until Christmas, we always get excited and open them early, haha.

  3. Awww such a super cute Funko! It’s also great that you keep the holiday traditions in your marriage 🙂 We also keep on buying presents 😉 But holiday parties are a little bit messy (I’ll blog about it soon). LOL I love that you keep on the traditions, that’s good!

Leave a Reply

