YA Books I’ve Put on my Wishlist

I can go back and forth on YA from time to time. Sometimes, I feel like I’m too old for YA. Other times I see it for the treasure trove that it is. Not too long ago I received a BookCase Club box with two YA novels that are patiently waiting to be read, but there are a few more I’m dying to get my hands on.

Merlin
One of my favorite Disney films ever!
  1. The Raven Cycles, Maggie Steifvater. I’ve recently discovered Steifvater while watching other authors I love on Youtube. She is the best mixture of sass and spunk and grown-up that I can imagine. I want to be like her someday. Of all her books the Raven Cycles intrigues me the most. It is about a young girl with a ridiculous name, mysterious boys, and a prophecy that if she kisses her true love he will die.
  2. Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo. We should all know by now that I love Leigh Bardugo. I read her Tsarpunk books about Alina Starkov, the most wonderfully compassionate and sour young woman in this broken land. Six of Crows is set in the same world, but has little to do with the original trilogy. Instead the reader is introduced to a band of thieves in for the biggest score of their life. Only if they can all keep it together.
  3. Anything Holly Black. Because of course. I like Tithe and Ironside, but I freaking adored Valiant, a kind of standalone in the middle of the trilogy. Since then she has put out The Curse Workers series, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, and The Darkest Part of the Forest. All of which seem magical and lyrical and make me hope that they are as wonderful as Valiant.

Honorable Mention:

Check out Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I adored this rendition of a fairy tale (which one, we can’t be sure). Novik draws largely on the lesser used Eastern European mythologies as she writes this wonderful standalone fantasy novel that’s somewhere between YA and Adult. There are lady bromances, creepy fairy tale elements, royal intrigue, and a strangely rocky yet endearing romance.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

