On the First Day of Yule my True Love Gave to Me

Christmas came a little early for me when I found the receipt for the gift from my hubs on the kitchen floor. Of course I read it. I wanted to make sure it wasn’t for the four hundred dollar item we bought someone. I was going to keep quiet about it until he leaked gift info to his sister, who I’d thought would like the surprise Christmas day. I retaliated by telling him I’d found the receipt.

He was not happy. He was disappointed. He had bought those extra little gifts because I already knew my big gift, cover art for my novel. I left the original gifts wrapped under the tree while he went out and bought more so that I’d have at least one surprise under the tree on Christmas day. Isn’t he sweet?

(I did something similar before that. Seeing him kind of down, I gave him the gifts I planned on giving him for Christmas and went back online to find him something even better. Which I think I did pretty well.)

After a bit of goofing around under the tree last night I finally opened the spoiled present. Here’s what I got!

  1. RatRat Queens, Volume One: Ever since I saw Marisha Ray and Laura Bailey dress up as the Rat Queens for their Halloween Critical Role episode I’ve been thinking that I missed out on something. I looked it up at one of our local comic places, but put it back since I was looking low on funds. Little did I know that he turned around and grabbed it. I’m only a few pages in considering I opened the present just last night, but it’s already so much fun.
  2. Dalek  Funko Dalek: I never really planned on collecting Funkos, but it seems to be happening now. Hubs was super impressed with the amount of detail in this little guy.
  3. CybermanFunko Cyberman: I’ve developed a huge Doctor Who obsession if you can’t tell. The lastest run in with the Cybermen has to be my favorite in all the series. It was just so wonderfully macabre and sorrowful. I think I might have a really bad nickname for this little guy, but spoilers.

If I’m going to keep collecting Funkos they need to catch up and make River Song, anything Ghibli, and all the Sailor Scouts. They don’t have Witcher Funkos either or else I’d make sure hubs had all of them.

The lack of sunlight these days is making me a little unmotivated. I can’t wait until Yule and the days start to get a little bit longer. That’s the real present.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

