BookCase Club Review

My hometown has a couple book stores. For as long as I can remember the used book store has been on the city square (I’m being nice when I call Watertown a city), and more recently a small business bookstore moved into our local mall. I’m not entirely impressed with either. Secondhand books often rely on people reading and giving up what you’re searching for. I don’t give up my books so I kind of doubt others are giving up what I’m looking for. The new mall bookstore is sparse and seems rather unloved. Books are just laying in stacks on shelves in a way that makes my teeth hurt.

In Maryland I had access to a Books-a-Million. I hated their organizational methods. Ugh, did they ever drive me batshit. Still, I could usually find what I was looking for. I also have a Kindle Fire. Amazon has everything, but instant gratification can’t beat a paper book.

Upon my search for the best literary themed box (because I’m a word nerd, duh) I found Book Case Club. It wasn’t what I was looking for at first (literary themed jewelry, accessories, etc), but then they drew me in. I could have books sent to my door? Sign me up. I often spend so much time himming and hawing over authors I don’t recognize that I decided that Book Case Club could take it out of my hands and show me what they loved.

Book Case Club has SIX options!

Each one is TEN DOLLARS a month.

You can choose from the paranormal romance box, Blind Date, the sci-fi and fatasy box, Strange World (that the hubs begged for), the YA box, Teenage Dreams, the mystery and thriller box, Thrill Seeker, their kids lit box, Read to Me, and their romance box, Booking for Love. I chose the YA box because I’m writing a YA and have been pretty impressed with the stuff coming out as of late. Hubs was asking for Strange Worlds, but I’m not a straight up sci-fi kind of girl and didn’t want to be disapointed. At this price, I might get him his own box.

Upon my box request, I received a tracking number once it was shipped. I love tracking numbers. It’s like counting down the days to Christmas. I saw that my box had been delivered so I walked in my PJ and knockoff Uggs to the post office to get my box. Yeah, I was psyched and, honestly, I’d just finished my coffee.

Inside my box were two YA hardcovers. As you guys know that shit is expensive. Both books retail at $18 a piece, meaning you can save THIRTY dollars. What?! I’m such a frugal gal that I’m elated.

Less about the money, more about the books. On top of my shiny new books is a little Christmas like car with sweet words that a nerd would love nad a description for each book. The cute line was handwritten, adding a really nice personal touch. While I’m kind of disappointed that I didn’t receive a specific book (Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo cause she’s the shit and her universe is new and very different from anything else), that kind of can’t be helped. The books are a surprise each month and what I received looks hella cool.

Etiquette and Espionage, by Gail Carriger: Set in the same world as her Parasol Protectorate series, Sophronia is fourteen and a more than a bit of a hassle to her mother. She’s tomboyish and curious. Her mother’s last ditch attempt to refine her daughter involves Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality, but this isn’t what her mother expected. Sure, Sophronia will learn to dance and proper table etiquette, but she’ll also learn about espionage and death.

“It’s one thing to learn to curtsy properly, it’s quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time.” Back cover quote that sold me.

I’m excited to read this one. The Parasol Protectorate series looked really cool, but I never picked it up. I have a harder time getting invested in adult ficitonal worlds than I do with YA fictional worlds and this should make a cool transistion if I do want to pick up her other books later.

Altered, by Jennifer Rush: Anna’s father has always worked for the Branch (ooooh, like Whedon’s Initiative?). His work involve the genetic alterations of four boys, but when the Branch comes to collect on the project one of the boys stages an escape. And Anna’s father urges her to go with them. Will she have more in common with the boys than she thought?

I’m a bigger book snob than I was in my early teens, often turning my nose up at sci-fi nowadays. Still, I liked James Patterson’s Maximum Ride series as well as Kathy Reich’s first YA book. This seems to run in the same vein as those and draws on the ominous idea of a secret government Branch like the Initiative in Joss Whedon’s Buffy (or all of his works of you’re a theorist). I could enjoy this if I let myself.

All in all, I did receive this box for free in exchange for a fair and honest review. I’m sold on the fact alone that this box is seriously cheap for what you get. I probably spend more than this a month on diet soda (I have a problem). Getting two hardcover novels a month is awesome and I wasn’t let down by the books I received today. While I might not get to them right away (writing a book series of my own after all), I’m looking forward to reading these and seeing what the hubs might get in his Strange Worlds box.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

