The Age of the Nerd is my Only Hope

Looking at today’s political world kind of scares me. The U.S. used to be a great place to be, the land of dreams and all that. These days, it’s debt everywhere you turn and 80 hour work weeks or a huge amount of sacrifice to live comfortably. College has become a cash cow. Even medicine has become a cash cow.

I look at our presidential candidates and really wonder if any of the choices are going to help us in any way. Donald Trump scares the bejeesus out of me because he’s just being flashy. All that flash is what is gaining him votes, not informed thought. Apparently there was one candidate that had no idea what was going on in Syria. Then there’s Hilary Clinton who just runs around saying 9/11 like Lois from that episode of Family Guy.

You know why people will vote for her? Because they want a woman in office. Doesn’t matter if she’s the right woman. She’s just a woman.

And you can see a lot of my generation, the millennials, really griping about the world they’ve been given on all sorts of social media. They’re sick of people telling them to pick themselves up by their bootstraps when they’re $40,000 in debt for the job that pays $30,000 annually.

We talk about this a lot with my husband’s family. They’re extremely politically aware, if not more republican than I’d like. I brought something up that was a little less depressing. I have hope. I really do. Sure, I may not be the one that will change things, but the Age of the Nerd is on the rise.

Kids and adults that regularly read are becoming more and more prominent. People who read are not only literate for one thing, but they are challenged to think. Fiction prompts you to wonder what will happen next by sifting through foreshadowing. Fiction brings up really themes that challenge social norms and political climates. Take a look at books like Hunger Games and Divergent. Those books are huge right now and both take authority into question. They’re popular because this is a time in which we should be taking authority into question.

These same people are watching stuff like Doctor Who and Star Trek. These shows are loosely scientifically based and even draw on history. This inspires kids and adults to learn more about history and science. It also teaches us values. If you’ve ever watched Doctor Who you can’t tell me there isn’t a lesson to be learned in every episode. They’re always so emotionally driven.

This is the Age of the Nerd.

Charlie

The Nerd gives me hope. The Nerd is a thinking person who can develop thoughts and properly articulate them in art or the written word. The Nerd will rise and create change for us. At least, that is what I hope will happen. I know that I’m not getting off my couch to rally right now, but my plan is to write. I will be putting fiction out into the world that I hope challenges someone to think, to aspire. There are plenty of people I know rising to the challenge, hoping to change the world. Some do it by becoming educators, prompting kids to think and learn. Others hope to enter the medicine field.

This world needs a lot of help. The U.S. needs our help if we’re going to keep acting like we’re all that. So, please nerds, don’t let me down. Kickstart your scientific dreams. Educate our growing generations. And please, please, please. Let’s put someone in office that will do something better for tuition and healthcare.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

