Five Fandom Friday: Five Fandoms I’m Thankful For

Next week is our venerable Thanksgiving, the day we can stuff ourselves to the gills without shame. Turkey is healthy, right? And pumpkin is a vegetable, so my pie is technically a vegetable…right?

Either way, I’m not exactly ready for mine. This is our first year in our home state as a married couple and as much as I love my mother-in-law she decided that Thanksgiving for the Wilkie clan would be hosted in our apartment. Plus, she invited a few loners. That’s admirable and all, but I’m not ready for round about thirty people to be in my apartment.

Do you know how much dusting I do not do?

So, to get my head on the right track here are five fandoms that I’m thankful for:

  1. Supernatural: Mom and I were a little late to the bandwagon, but we quickly caught up in the Winchester’s feverish nightmare. This is a show that Mom, bro, and I would sit down for. Sometimes we’d even do mini themed marathons. The funniest marathon was the jailbird one, where we watched every episode that the Winchesters went to jail. I’m thankful for this fandom because it is a family thing for me that my husband and I have carried on. Super
  2. DC: The launch of the New 52 comics happened around the same time that my husband and I began dating. More often than not we would find ourselves spending time at the local comic shop and soon enough we began to pull just about every title they released. We would read them in the car together, over coffee or pancakes together. It also opened my eyes to some really cool superheroes I hadn’t thought about. The 52 Supergirl was brilliant before I had to stop buying comics so long ago. Batsy
  3. Hayao Miyzaki: As a child I watched Kiki’s Delivery Service. A pang of nostalgia prompted me to pick it up as well as another handful of Ghibli titles and an obsession steam rolled my life from there. Miyazaki’s movies are so wonderfully hand crafted and each hold a message much truer than most Disney movies. Totoro is about the fragility and preciousness of life, for crying out loud. I’m thankful that these are the movies I’m sharing with my future children.Kiki
  4. Critical Role: Geek and Sundry hosts a group of nerdy voice actors playing Dungeons and Dragons every Thursday night. You can watch it love on Twitch, or you can be like me and watch it Monday night once they post it on the website. Either way, you should watch it. I’ve fallen head over heels for each personality in the show, real and invented. Not only are the cast super fun and lovable, but their characters pull at your heartstrings and make you laugh out loud. I am so thankful to have this in my life.

    Matt
    The Chameleon Dungeon Master.
  5. Fantasy Literature: That is a fandom, right? I mean, it has to be the first fandom or damn near close to it. This is what set me on the path to being who I am today. Without Garth Nix, Tamora Pierce, or C.S. Lewis I might not be here right now. In my later years I moved up to Neil Gaiman and Robin McKinley (do check her out, I swear by everything she’s done). They are what inspires me to keep writing fantastical fiction and living this wonderfully imaginative life.
Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

4 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday: Five Fandoms I’m Thankful For”

  1. Fantasy literature totally counts! I really need to get on the Supernatural bandwagon…have A LOT of catching up to do 🙂

  2. Ah, mothers. Good luck!
    I’m late to the Supernatural club as well- I start season 2 this weekend. 🙂
    And thanks for putting Critical Role on my radar! I’d never heard of it before now, but I play D&D every other week, so clearly I should be watching it.

  3. The Supernatural bandwagon is an emotional roller coaster. There’s a lot of ups, downs, laughs, and questionable seasons. But I love it anyway.

Leave a Reply

