A Little Geek in my Ink

All of my life I’ve been obsessed with tattoos. My relatives from California had them all over their skin, from black and white mermaids to bursting yellow suns. I knew that the mermaid was for my grandfather. I had a faint memory of a similar one on his leg as well.

Here was art that was personal to the wearer. It made them more beautiful, more meaningful, more what they wanted to be. While I always wanted tattoos, I didn’t get my first one until I was twenty-two. It wasn’t something I’d thought about for years. No, my future husband had left for basic training and I needed a reminder to stay strong and positive.

What was a better reminder than my hero, Wonder Woman? The best example of her positive outlook and strength was in her Golden Age self so I had the old school Wonder Woman script logo tattooed onto my ribcage. Sometimes, I forget that its even there, but once in a while I get a little glimpse of a reminder that I can be stronger.

Of course, I didn’t stop there. I have about five more tattoos. I think I pick a harder place to tattoo each time with some sense of false machisimo. The last one was on the top of my foot, a design I drew myself. As much as it hurt I now have my own art on my body. In the meantime I’m still dreaming up my next tattoos.

We love our fandoms for how they make us feel. They remind us that we are each brilliant, powerful, determined, or what have you. A tattoo is a reminder of that feeling captured in art. It costs a lot of money, but it is something that will last you the rest of your life.

Yes, I have a list of tattoos I cannot wait to get. Here are the geekiest tattoos I’m dying to get:

  1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: I might offend some people, but This. Is. My. Bible. It used to be that I read this book at least once a year. It is a tale of two magicians pitted against one another in a show of power. That show of power becomes the wild, strange, and beautiful Night Circus. Sometimes I think that Morgenstern wrote it s an ode to all literary lovers ever. I even used it as the theme to my wedding! My Night Circus tattoo would be a simple black and white circus tent on the inside of my wrist with a little red flag at the top. It would be cool if I could make the black be a quote from the book, but that’s a lot to pack into a small tattoo.

    nightcircus
    Source: Google Image Search
  2. Doctor Who: This is the craze that has taken over the geek world. I am one of those SuperWhoLockians they warned you about. But out of those fandoms I’d get a Doctor Who tattoo first. The Galifreyan script from our beloved Time Lord’s home world is all at once beautiful and oddly unique. It is a series of circles that when put together looks like the gears inside of a clock. Ingenious! I’d like to get a Galifreyan tattoo that either reads as a meaningful quote or something from the show, I haven’t decided. I want it all in blue, too. Black outlines are for the weak.Doctor
  3. Sailor Moon: I never realized how many girls grew up with Sailor Moon. A lot of us watched the magic girl series and still have our favorite Sailor Scouts. Recently, a lot of the re-dubbed episodes have been released on Hulu and I am not ashamed to say that I’m binge watching them almost as hard as I did Parks and Recreation. There are so many beautiful sailor moon tattoos out there, immortalized in different styles and places. Mine will be a bow on my upper back with the silver crystal in the center.Sailor Moon
  4. Studio Ghibli: I think this is the one that would take a huge chunk of my money. In my head I visualize a leg piece that takes up much of my outer thigh. As a child I watched Kiki’s Delivery Service. Nostalgia prompted me to pick it up when I found it at a Best Buy and from there I discovered My Neighbor Totoro, Howl’s Moving Castle, and a lot more. Miyazaki paints a beautiful story in each movie with meaning that seems beyond the years of children. I want to immortalize my favorites in what would probably be my biggest tattoo.Miyazaki
Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

