An Artist’s Procrastination; Review of Classic Human Anatomy in Motion

Human anatomy

Classic Human Anatomy in Motion by Valerie Winslow is a such a fabulously made book. It looks as through it would stand the test of time after numerous pulls from the shelf and being half buried by art supplies. That being said, the book itself focuses intensely on the scientific aspect of the human body. I should have known from the title, but it is still a large info dump for someone with a short attention span such as myself. The book does break down each part of the body for the artist to study, but it also addresses movement as well with chapters on Rhythmic movement and Cyclic movement. I do enjoy the photo references and I have much to learn from this book. I enjoy the references that show part of the body and bone structure compared to something else that the eye easily recognizes, making the shapes easier to distill via pen or pencil.

I was really hoping to refine my drawing skills for future art if I really wanted to pursue tattooing but found this book extremely daunting when I opened it. Without an active voice or guidance, such as with a class, I keep closing the book and pushing it away because I’m unable to absorb any of it. Did you ever want something really bad, but the fear of being simply mediocre kept you from trying harder?
I look at Classic Human Anatomy in Motion and think that this is such a great resource to have on hand. I even told myself I’d dedicate a day to just drawing, but the fear sits there under the surface. It tells me I can’t conquer this. This book will take me a long time to get through entirely, but the knowledge of basic human anatomy in gesture drawing is invaluable once I defeat my fear of inadequacy.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Blogging For Books in return for an honest review of the book.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

