Geek Girl Getting Her Drink On

One of my favorite past times involves dreaming up businesses. I love to stand in the front window at work and look out at all the businesses lining the street, imagining what I’d do if I owned a particular building. For the shop with the raised level on the inside I imagined a cafe/bookstore combo. For the brick front bar I imagined a pub with modernized bar foods.

Someday, I’d like to own my own business. I think that the cafe/bookstore might be my favorite so far, but a close friend dreams of another kind of bar. In “Dreams Can Level Up Too” I told you guys about her dream of owning a nerdy themed bar, the kind of place where you can grab a drink and a snack while you watch your favorite movies and shows with other people that love it too.

She’s not the first to have this kind of dream. Bars aren’t just for sports anymore. Right here in my very own slice of the North Country we have The Flashback Lounge, a bar where you can play all of your favorite arcade games while you grab a drink. All across the world people have been bringing their nerdiness to the bar scene.

Here’s a list of geek themed bars that I’d like to visit in my lifetime:

  1. The Lovecraft Bar, Portland, Oregon: This horror themed bar pays homage to H.P. Lovecraft in name and hosts what has been voted as the coolest dance parties in Portland. My girlfriend lives in this city and I’m definitely putting it on the list when I finally get the cash to visit her. The tentacles on the wall are a nod to Lovecraft’s most famous creature, C’thulu, and they’ve decorated with everything from voodoo dolls to skeletons. Lovecraft Bar keeps Portland weird.
  2. The Lockhart, Toronto, Canada: Just a hop, skip, and a jump away from me is a beautiful Harry Potter themed bar. The drinks’ names all have to do with J.K. Rowling’s famous series, such as “Befuddlement Brew”, and apparently there’s one with such an obscure name that if you can figure out the reference it is on the house. The neon sign in the bar illuminates the final words in the series, “All was well”, and their logo is a patronus. I can’t say I love the bar’s namesake, Gilderoy Lockhart, but I might just love this bar.Lockhart
  3. Dungeons and Drafts, Fort Collins, Colorado: This is the one that my husband is ashamed that he didn’t think of first. We came across this while looking up how geek bars do on Kickstarter and fell in love. They have an assortment of geek themed cocktails from Doctor Who to Harry Potter and host game nights inside of the medieval styled tavern. I’m not the biggest fan of Colorado, but if I was in the area again I’d make sure to stop by here.

    Vin Deisel plays Dungeons and Dragons with our favorite DM, Matt Mercer to promote his new movie.
    Vin Deisel plays Dungeons and Dragons with our favorite DM, Matt Mercer to promote his new movie.
  4. The Sherlock Holmes Pub, London, UK: I can’t say I’m a huge fan of literature of the past. I have a short attention span and their abundant use of words (ahem, Lovecraft) usually fails to capture my attention. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s famous character Sherlock Holmes and his many adventures pulls me in and keeps me there. I’m a fan of his many incarnations as well, especially the BBC Sherlock. This bar in London has the standard London fare such as Fish and Chips, but they also have a re-creation of Doyle’s study that you can visit. They open at eleven am and stay open until the wee hours of the night (such as 11:00) so you can start with coffee and work your way into a proper British beer.Sherlocky

These bars have officially been added to my travel bucket list. Don’t think for a second that I haven’t thought of gathering my Potter-head friends for a road trip into Canada. That just might be a thing in the future.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

