A Dose of Instant Happy

Happy

If anyone needs to be happier I’d say it is me. I’m a dour and pessimistic person with a lot of emotional struggles in life. The weight on my shoulders gets too hard to bear at times, bringing my whole day down. I’ve tried to start a gratitude journal before, but was quickly sidetracked without order.

When I saw Instant Happy Journal, by Karen Salmansohn, I knew that I just had to give it a try. It was smaller than I expected, much the size of the little desk calendar that you can tear the days off. Inside, on each page is prompt, philosophical quote, or scientific study to move the reader. The very first prompt asks the reader to write small, everyday miracles. I wrote seven, which if you asked me to tell you a small miracle I’d have said I didn’t have any. The next prompt urges the reader to turn a failure into wisdom.

For 365 days the reader has a voice reminding them to seek out the joy and happiness in each day. Salmansohn calls her readers “Awesome Seekers”.

I have to say that I’m excited to see where this book will lead me. I have a feeling that I won’t magically change into an optimist over night, but I will have a better handle on my life because I’m reminded to think about things in a better light. Perhaps more of us could give this a try. I know I’d like to get one for my husband and my best friend already.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free through Blogging For Books for review. That does not affect my opinion of the book

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

1 thought on “A Dose of Instant Happy”

Leave a Reply

