Don’t Say Witch Like it’s a Bad Thing

I confessed my love for witches and witchcraft to you guys before. The world seems like it should be more than what we see because what we see is already magic. The flaming color of the trees in the fall and the sparkle of fresh snow on a clear, cold day is intense and pure beauty in my eyes. The way birds stay afloat in the air or the way that a squirrel seems to defy gravity as it deftly climbs trees is nearly indescribable.

That is my magic.

When I was perhaps fourteen or fifteen I discovered a book series called Sweep, by Cate Tiernan. The story arc is separated into fifteen short books that follow sixteen year old Morgan Rowlands after she discovers that she is a blood witch. Now, it isn’t only magic that comes with this discovery, but faith as well. Morgan discovers Wicca, an ancient earth based religion.

Wicca

These books changed my life. Sure, Wicca isn’t exactly like it is in the book; I can’t flick my wrist and say some words and Voila! Fire! But the principle tenants are there and they struck a chord with me. It was as if I was putting a name to something that I already believed in. I devoured anything I could find on the subject all the while afraid that it’d be taken away from me if anyone found out. I didn’t know how my parents might react the idea that I’d taken up witchcraft.

Coming from a small town area comprised largely of church goers I kept my beliefs secret to many. Wearing a pentacle to work often provoked challenges from customers. “Do you know what that means?” one customer asked and when I explained what it meant to me he raised an eyebrow as if to say I was lying to myself.

Wicca is a nature based religion that worships the Goddess (often seen as mother earth) and the God (who has many faces such as the Holly King, Oak King, and Sky Father). Wiccans try to live in reverence to their gods and in harmony with the universe as a whole. And many of us use magic in our daily practices. I like to think of it as everything vibrates at some level in this world and when we are casting spells we are using objects and components (such as candles, ribbons, and herbs) that vibrate with the same frequency as what we are trying to conjure. (But this is just how I explain it to myself!)

Sometimes I separate my geekiness from the Wiccan part of my life, but it doesn’t have to be that way. A number of geeky things play well with nature worshipers or seem to draw them in. Renaissance Festivals in particular usually draw in Wiccans because it is such a down to earth event, usually held outdoors. But I like to read and watch magical fandoms such as Harry Potter and Witches of East End (why did they have to cancel that on me?). I even love the witches in the new movie, The Last Witch Hunter.

I hope in the future that I can meet some more Wiccans or pagans in my area to create a small group. I’d like to let my pagan flag fly as much as my geek flag and I’m done trying to hide it. I am pagan and I am proud.

Wierdos

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

1 thought on “Don’t Say Witch Like it’s a Bad Thing”

Leave a Reply

