Flying my Sparkly Geek Flag

I have a soft spot for jewelry. When I was in my teens I did a lot of beading and in my early twenties I did a short stint working at a small, high end jewelry store. My tastes have changed from chunky, hippie-esque handmade necklaces to dainty silver charms and faceted stones, but I always like to put my own spin on it.

Poke

I acquired an European style charm bracelet while I was working at the small jewelry store, a Christmas gift from a coworker that turned out to be a forever kind of friend. The thing is, I didn’t really acquire a lot of the beads that go on the bracelet. They’re seriously expensive. A silver Chamilia charm with no crystal or enamel embellishments will set you back $45 before tax. Throw in swarovski crystals or enamel and the price skyrockets. And Pandora is so snobby about mixing the beads you’d think they were pre-civil rights.

Think Geek has a solution for that problem and an outlet to let us girly geeks show our love. They offer a line of charms that fit the European style bracelets and cost anywhere from $9.99 to $45 (I believe). Think Geek’s charms fill a range of fandoms to please all the girly geeks. Harry Potter and Guardians of the Galaxy are the newest fandom additions to their line; a few examples include a Hedwig charm and a moving Baby Groot charm. Doctor Who, Firefly, Avengers, Star Wars, and Tabletop RPG are other themes that can be found on Think Geek.

The site is having a sale on some of the Guardians of the Galaxy and Harry Potter charms (as I write this), selling them at 9.99 a piece. Mind you, they aren’t sterling silver like their cousins. Instead, these charms are made with surgical steel. Think Geek even offered a mystery bag for a while with three mystery charms at a pretty reasonable price (beware: one reviewer claimed to have gotten three of the same unwanted charm). While my bank account is running on low the temptation is still there. If you want to carry a piece of your fandom with you on the down low this is a cool way to do it.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

