My First Funko Friday

It’s really been too long since I’ve posted anything. It’s not like I’ve been busy, either. I had the beginning of the week off and saw Goosebumps in theaters with the hubby (and it’s a lot of good fun, I suggest you see it at least once if not more). The rest of my week has been dedicated to working in a dead tourist town. Why I haven’t utilized the downtime to write a post is beyond me.

I’m sorry I’ve been so lazy. You deserve better.

Will a Funko Friday make up for it?

I think I’ve developed a problem. I bought my first Funko on a whim. It was a Fionna from the genderbent Adventure Time spin-off. I’m a huge Adventure Time fan and they really struck feminist gold with Fionna. She’s a strong character with a body true to women for a cartoon. Her Funko, on the other hand, was kind of disappointing.

She has the tiniest feet that, when paired with a head so big, cause her to tip at the slightest vibration. It was irritating to have to constantly be picking her up. Considering that I more often than not favor female characters I came to the conclusion that all the female Funko characters would have the same tiny feet problem and didn’t buy more of them.

Until now.

I couldn’t control myself. I passed up on her once already and couldn’t do it again. I fell in love with this character and you all know how much I love her. The Agent Carter Funko was in my hands within seconds of discovering it. I was weary of the tiny feet issue, but happy to have my own little piece of Agent Carter for my own.

Her head bobbles!
Her head bobbles!

It wasn’t until I had gotten in the car and was playing with the box that I realized I’d bought the bobble head version. That was cool and all, but the best thing was she came with a little stand! I’m thrilled that she stands up on her own and after doing a bit of catching up on Supernatural last night I decided that I need the Charlie Bradbury Funko if I ever find it.

Not only is Charlie Bradbury a total boss, but Felicia day is THE role model for geek/nerd women everywhere. Or, at least, I think she should be after writing The Guild and building Geek and Sundry (what I called ESPN for nerds the other night).

Like I said, I might have developed a Funko problem.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

4 thoughts on “My First Funko Friday”

  1. Charlie Bradbury was actually my first Funko! She’s such a fun Pop. I haven’t gotten Agent Carter yet, but she’s on my wish list. I hope they keep making more female figures. It’s nice to have the chance to buy cool toys of my favorite heroines.

  2. Funko has, in my opinion, a good balance of male, female, and whathaveyou. I mean, they even have the Tardis! I think my dream Funko would be the Sailor Scouts.

  3. I love Funkos! I have like 50+ (don’t make me count) I have Agent Carter, and from SPN Wincestiel xDDDD But I need Charlie!! I haven’t her yet. I suppose I’ll get her once I’ve moved. Oh yeah, the Funko wishlist is a never ending one LOL
    xoxo
    dePepi.com

Leave a Reply

