We Shouldn’t Have to Fangirl Alone

The years have kind of been flying by. It feels like just yesterday I was living on campus, eagerly awaiting my wedding while I had adventures with my best friends. We went on midnight vodka missions, took road trips with people we barely knew, and wandered the streets of Saratoga Springs. But that was three years ago now. Those friends are scattered across the country. Sure, we text and skype when we can, but it’s not the same. We can’t just pile into a shitty car and hit the road anymore.

Moving back home has kind of hit me hard with that reality. Many of the people I once knew have moved on, either leaving the state or starting busy families. It makes me yearn for new friendships and shiny adventures. Something more than the trip to work and back you know?

I discovered something a while back while researching other blogs like my own. I came across Girl Gone Geek, a really well written blog for lady geeks like myself. It was everything I wanted my blog to become (and should remind myself of when I start to slack off). Jamila, the author, also co-founded an irl event called Geek Girl Brunch, a monthly meet up of local geek girls for brunch (because what is the girliest meal?).

Geek Girl Brunch groups are spread out all across the world. They are a safe haven for girls to meet and discuss all the things they love with the support of a friendly network, without fear of backlash. Once a month, they pick a restaurant and, often, a theme for the brunch. They decorate, they dress up, they fangirl so hard.

Wouldn’t that be a great thing to be a part of?

Only thing is, I live so far from any kind of urban center these days. Our local city has less than 30,000 people living in it. There was no chapter for Geek Girl Brunch in my area. The closest is NYC and that’s insane. So, I did a thing. I put myself out there and offered to become an officer of a Northern New York chapter.

The catch is that I need someone else to volunteer as well for this to become a real thing. There have to be at least two officers to begin a chapter. There also have to be members of a chapter to have one. But that is why I’m writing this post, right?

If you live in the NNY area and would like to meet for a monthly get together to talk about the latest who killed who in Supernatural or who’s the best companion in Doctor Who, I’m waiting for you. If you’re looking to play D&D, paint your miniatures, or regale others with your character’s tales, I’m waiting for you.

Visit Geek Girl Brunch and email them if you’d like to be an officer. Comment below if you’d like to be a pat of the chapter.

Thanks to Girl Gone Geek and Geek Girl Brunch.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

1 thought on “We Shouldn’t Have to Fangirl Alone”

Leave a Reply

