To Get Crafty or Not, That is my Question…

I’m upstairs, trying to watch Adventure Time episodes on the Hulu account that I had thought was canceled (twice), and the internet just can’t seem to stretch far enough to load video. My super obsessive brain seems to be down with this because it can’t get off the subject of candle making, among other crafts.

It is something that I’ve really wanted to try my hand at for a long time. I’m a crafty sort of person. I like bringing together things with a very hands on process. Perhaps that is why I like cooking and painting as well. I’ve made flowers from paper, flower crows from dollar store bouquets, and definitely had my fill of jewelry making. For a little while, I was obsessed with sewing until I jammed my nearly unused sewing machine.

Now, it seems that all I can think about are different homages to geek culture that I can make with candles as my medium. When my friend mentioned Zelda, a pale purple candle immediately came to mind. I imagine that it might smell like lilacs and fresh cotton or linen when you hold it close to your nose. Link’s candle might smell like woody leather while Epona’s would be something grassy and delicate like Lily of the Valley. Maybe I could even re-purpose the horrible D20 cake molds into candle molds.

And heaven knows that the internet sucks you in like a black hole. While surfing reliable Amazon for a decently priced candle making kit to test my skills on, I came across a simple kit for making your own bath bombs. Seeing as Lush is a new discovery for me, I have an insane fascination with bath bombs. Turns out, they aren’t much more than an oil of our choice mixed with baking soda, citric acid, cornstarch, and a fragrance. Kind of like how you can make a sugar scrub with oil and sugar. That sounded so doable, right? My next thought was obviously to press them into the Avengers ice mold that hubby and I got from our last Loot Crate.

It feels like the beginning of a very geeky apothecary version of Bath and Body Works. I’d like to test my skills at scent blending because I know that will be my selling point. I mean what else keeps potential buys from making it themselves if I think it can be so easily done?

Another part of me is kind of terrified that I’ll lose interest, like I did with the eighty dollar sewing machine. I have a habit of dumping a bunch of money into one craft or another that I will become obsessed with and then abandoning it. Not too long ago I purchased a point and shoot camera for a food blog that I wanted to start. My skills with capturing a decent photo with a point and shoot seemed relatively good when I was working with my husband’s medieval helmet, but I got discouraged when my food didn’t photograph as well.

I guess I might say that I’m on the fence right now. I really want to give this new venture a try because it is so similar to cooking or baking that I might hang on to it and make some money. But on the other hand, I could waste money right when we’re trying to save it.

Tell me, what is your favorite hobby or craft? Have you ever tried making money from it and succeeded?

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

