To Self Publish or To Wait?

Things are changing in my life. The hubby and I are leaving behind the military life and going back to the world of civilians. That means a serious cut in pay, that being if we can even find jobs. It feels kind of precarious, that’s for sure. Things like going to the movies and our weekly Chipotle visit will have to be cut and its going to hurt.
But I had an idea. For the longest time I was really reluctant to do this. I thought that it meant that in some way that I had failed. Self publishing always had a nasty taste in my mouth, but now there’s a shimmering light of hope about it. I have a couple of novels, one that only needs one last comb through and another (the sequel) that needs serious reworking. Given a bit of work, I’m sure that there’s a place waiting for these novels on Amazon’s Kindle market.
I’ve done some research. I’ve learned that e-books priced $1.98 or lower only gives the author a 30% royalty whereas e-books priced $1.99 or more give the author a 70% royalty. And while that doesn’t seem like much, it can become something. One successful e-book author that chose the self publishing route claimed (almost ashamed of himself) to have made a little over ten thousand on one book. I know that I probably won’t be that successful, but damn.
Even a fraction of that is something.
I had two jobs lined up back where both the hubs and I grew up. But he couldn’t find what he was looking for and started to look further south. There’s a good chance that he could find something that pays well in a small city a few hours from home. But that means I won’t be able to commute to the job I was dying to go back to. I feel at a loss, but at least I have one thing.
I have my novels. I have a plan.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

