Dreams Can Level Up Too

Legend of Zelda splash art that I painted myself.
Legend of Zelda splash art that I painted myself.

Every Saturday night we geeks crowd around the little kitchen table. We gather our character sheets and pour our drinks before settling into an interactive story of adventure. We cleave goblins in half and seduce women out of our league. Eventually, the side conversation finds it way onto a certain subject.

Our neighbor has a dream for all nerds and geeks like us out there. She dreams of a day that she can go out for a glass of mead and watch her favorite movies and tv shows with great friends, unwinding from the daily grind. She dreams long hours of role playing supplemented by drinks and good food. Until she moved in next door, the geek bar was just a dream.

Now that there are six of us, the way we talk about it is more and more like this is going to become a real thing. It seems more and more like this will become ours and I haven’t been more excited about anything. Names are being tossed around, positions are being claimed (I’ve already staked my claim on the kitchen and begun dreaming up my geeky inspired menu). My neighbor is emailing companies about licensing costs and I’m searching for just the right location among the Baltimore/DC area. Fiction is fast becoming reality.

These bars exist is areas like NYC and are upcoming in Chicago, but as far as I’ve seen there isn’t one in our area. Between Baltimore and DC there are all kinds of conventions. There’s comic-con (which hubs and I went to last year), Faerie-con in Hunt Valley, and a Supernatural Convention coming up in DC. Our bar will be the place for the convention goers to go to afterwards for a drink and a bite, where they can talk cosplay and fandoms every day.

We plan on putting up a Kickstarter page once all the numbers have been crunched and we know exactly what we will need. I’m working on logos for merchandise and original art work as a reward (like the painting above!). The hubs is even working on a drinking game to give to the big spenders. I know that not all of the nerd bar kickstarters reach fruition, but with your help we can make this real for everyone.

Muster all the geekiness you have inside of you and tell us what you would call a bar like this. And don’t forget to keep an eye out here because I’ll be sure to tell you when the Kickstarter goes up.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

1 thought on “Dreams Can Level Up Too”

  1. The Burning Tavern. The Charisma Check. The Initiative Inn. The Take-20 Tavern. The Bardic Verse. The Windy-Helm-Dale-Glen-Moor. The Chaotic-Neutral Crossroads. The Lusty Glutton. The Wisdom Waning.

    Best of luck, btw 🙂

Leave a Reply

