Getting a Handle on Things

Lately, I’ve lost track of time. It as run through my fingertips, leaving me with pay stubs and a few extra pounds but not much else. I lost track of the blog last fall after so many things happened one after another. I think the sun is ready to shine for me, though.

Recently, I decided that my endgame plan was to open a bakery back home. I sketched out a logo and imagined what my menu might look like. I imagined how brightly I would smile when I first opened those doors and how sweetly I would smile every day from there on out. Baking is my zen zone. It is where I go when life is full of troubles and trials and all I want is something to turn out right.

Then, our super cool new neighbors confessed one of their dreams. They’re not much older than my husband and I and possibly even more nerdy than we are, if that was even possible. And they dream of someday opening up a nerd themed bar. They envision themed nights, with big screen tvs hanging all around and board games within reach. She wants themed mixed drinks and he’s just as good in the kitchen as I am. There would be Tolkien and Star Wars themed art on the walls, only to name a few.

I like to imagine that I have a head for business. I like to think that I’m going to be really good at owning my own business. It’s not like someone like me can get an everyday career. Sadly, no one is going to hire the girl with hunter green hair and tattoos and gauged ears. But I can see myself living out either dream, happier than ever.

Tell me, do you think that this is a good idea? Tell me where you would open the bar and how you might raise money to do so. Then it just might happen.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

