Don’t We All Daydream?

My girlfriend and I have the same issue. We might be living the lives that we dreamed of years ago, but we are already yearning for the lives that could be in the future. For me, it started when my mother in law texted me that she was watching Ink Master, a tattooing competition on Spike. She was raving about how I was a better artist than half the contestants and followed up by suggesting that I should become a tattoo artist.
I won’t lie. This is something I’ve thought about off and on for years because I have an avid obsession with tattoos, but always decided that I really wasn’t all that great of an artist. I’ve focused so hard on my writing over the past seven years that my drawing skills have kind of become stagnant. Over the past year, I picked up watercolor painting and through that I’ve honed my art skills a little more.
But about a month ago I found myself sitting in the lobby of a tattoo parlor while friends sat for their new tattoos. From my leather seat I could peek into each artist’s work room. They were decorated with nerdy action figures and one of a kind pieces of art that continued into the lobby. Bottles of ink lined the pristine counters and Halloween decorations were already up.
As I waited, I thought that I could see myself working here each and every day. No longer would I have to worry about corporate dress codes that restrict hair colors and facial piercings. The thought of taking out my nose ring truly saddens me, but I still discarded the idea because I just wasn’t confident in myself. It took a tarot card spread to do that for me.
Now the image has returned and will not leave me. I think about it constantly, consuming my waking dreams. I can see myself coming through the door every morning, thermos of coffee in one hand, sketch book in my purse, and wearing something that I couldn’t get away with anywhere else. Maybe it will mean that player #3 won’t be happening any time soon like I had thought, but if I could write and draw for a living I wouldn’t care. Isn’t that what the American dream is all about?
Now, I have new sketchbooks and a huge pencil set just waiting to meet. I have a lot of practice and learning to do before I can even think about an apprenticeship. Sure, I’m going to keep writing. Wouldn’t it be cool to sell some of my books in my own shop, too? Right now, I’m going to get back to work on that Sailor Moon themed hot air balloon painting. Still gotta get my geek on.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

