In Which I DO WHAT I WANT

I’ve always wanted to be a gamer girl, but too often I was content to simply be the back seat driver while others played video games. When I tried to play myself I would get too excited in the heat of battle and press all the wrong buttons at all the wrong times. I simply cannot play Rock Band, for some reason I can’t recognize one finger from another on the ‘instruments’. Don’t even get me started with PC gaming and the keyboard for the same reason.

Being a jobless housewife means a lot of free time between doing laundry, making dinner, and writing. My boredom fall backs like watercolor painting and playing dead on the patch of sunlight on the floor have lost their allure. My stack of books to be read just doesn’t have the priority that it should.

No, I have a new obsession that is eating away these free hours. A lot of you probably already know what I’m talking about, having been on the scene way before me. Action and adventure is at my fingertips with a neon green controller in ways that I thought I couldn’t do.

I can finally call myself a gamer girl. Right now, my obsession is Skyrim. All the hype that I’ve heard about it is true. The scenery is spectacular. There is so much to discover and enjoy when dragons aren’t appearing out of nowhere, refusing to land so that you can use your two-handed weapon to slay it properly.

At first, I thought that I would be a magic user, slaying the enemies from a distance so that I didn’t get the over excited button mashing errors. That was blown out of the water when I picked up a two handed sword and started to hack and slash at things. Sure, half the time I was crouching or changing the view point while I was fighting, but I’ve gotten a lot better at not doing exactly that that. And my husband gets a big kick out of listening me play seeing as my vocabulary is quite foul and ridiculous.

I’ve created this badass warrior woman named Kaira. She has epic face paint that reminds me of Celtic death goddesses and wears horned helmets while swinging enchanted battle axes. Her best friend is an undead named Herman, even though he’s slow as tar he’s pretty reliable. Kaira even married the love of her life, a woman, in this open minded world, and adopted a child that had been kicked out of her own home. I don’t know how well she takes care of them, but they’re her family.

Yeah, I’ve spent too many hours playing already and will probably play as soon as I’m done writing this. After my enthusiasm for Skyrim is spent I have another game lined up. My brother had this one and I remembered being the little devil on his shoulder while he played, pushing him towards complete villainy. I loved its post apocalyptic setting with splashes of retro imagery and ridiculous missions. Fallout 3 is waiting patiently for me and I’m so excited that I feel like a gamer girl.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

3 thoughts on “In Which I DO WHAT I WANT”

  1. I love Skyrim, Its my go to game if I get a free hour or two after the kids go to bed. Its srsly awesome. I have it on 360 and PC but I always go PC with this one. The graphics on the PC are out of this world. Obsessed.

  2. On a side note, I was driving to work this past spring and saw some blue wildflowers and the first thought that popped up in my head was…oh I should grab those for my health potion…thats when I realized I should take a break! 🙂 best game ever

Leave a Reply

