Fangirling Over My Hero

 

Trying hard not to smile like an idiot.
Trying hard not to smile like an idiot.

I recently submitted my finished manuscript to a few literary agents and in the meantime I’ve been devouring books. Sure, I have a bunch of projects that need work, but I had been working myself to the bone. Pounding out word counts and pouring over revisions while trying to keep a novel length plot in a linear order in my head had been taxing.

Each time my hubby goes to the local game shop I flock to the few shelves of books and fawn over the geeky titles like Outlander by Diana Gabaldon as well as The Last Unicorn by Peter Beagle. But the book I was happiest and saddest about was the finale to a series I had been reading since high school (which was over seven years ago now). The first time I read a book by Kim Harrison, I think I was a junior and it was actually the third book in the series and propelled me into the world of Urban Fantasy.

As soon as I had enough money, I ran to the local big name books store (a place I still mourn even though I don’t live there anymore) and grabbed all four books that were out. Now there are thirteen books in the Rachel Morgan series, a short story collection, a book about the world she created, and several graphic novels.

This September I had the fortune to meet Kim Harrison in the flesh. There was a long and winding line to the table where she sat, but there was no lack of friendliness along the line. It turned into a kind of powwow circle near where I stood, readers intermingling and chatting about everything. I met another author in line, a woman just starting out in the business and embodying what I was reaching towards. There were also mothers and scientists and of course, Kim’s husband. He handed out the raffle prizes and exuberantly chatted with Kim’s readers, talking about their affectionate romance even as she travelled for past tours.

It was the first time I’d been able to meet one of my literary heroes and the best night that I’d had in such a long time that didn’t involve alcohol. No, really. While I didn’t pick up any phone numbers as I should have, I made some online connections and started to use my Twitter account a little more to keep up with the writing world. There really is an awesome community of writers blowing up the twittersphere.

Author: Leah Chiasson

I am a twenty something geek, wife, writer, and all around goofy girl. I am a freelance writer as well as the author of Marked For The Hunt, available on Amazon.com, and the coming sequel, Marked as Prey. You can find me on Leahcorrinewrites.wordpress.com and on my Patreon site!

Leave a Reply

